Old 09-28-2006, 08:43 AM   #1 (permalink)

Bank: 8,495,807,624.24
Total Points: 8,495,860,335.15
Rep Power: 21474868 Omosewa is a legendOmosewa is a legendOmosewa is a legendOmosewa is a legendOmosewa is a legendOmosewa is a legendOmosewa is a legendOmosewa is a legendOmosewa is a legendOmosewa is a legendOmosewa is a legend

Default Igbo Lessons.

Please!!!

How do i say the following:

1.Hello=Dalu?
2.How are you?
3.I'm fine=Odima?
4.How was your day?
5.What are you doing?
6.Where are you going?
7.What are you eating?
8.I'm off to bed?
9.Goodnight=Kachifo?
10.I want water= Ine miri?
11.I'm hungry=?
12.I love you=Afunnaya?

Thanks guys
Old 09-28-2006, 08:53 AM   #2 (permalink)

Bank: 0.35
Total Points: 39,022,376.80
Rep Power: 2470000000 Arinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legend

copy cat oshi
Arinze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 09:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
mel
NR's Mayor

Bank: 37,058,442,728.17
Total Points: 37,059,121,576.59
Rep Power: 2470000000 mel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legendmel is a legend

hmmmmmmm! check ya user cp

What a man has,
what he can offer having what he has,
what he can do when he does not have,
and what he can't or won't do with what he has
- defines the man.
.... Mel, inspired by Starlomor
mel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 01:39 PM   #4 (permalink)

Bank: 60,674,863,550.73
Total Points: 60,674,867,081.63
Rep Power: 21474873 tomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legend

Originally Posted by Omosewa
Please!!!

1.Hello=Dalu?
2.How are you? KEDU (KA IME)?
3.I'm fine=Odima?
4.How was your day?KEDU KA UBOSI GI DI?
5.What are you doing? GINI KA I NA EME?
6.Where are you going? EBE KA I NA AGA?
7.What are you eating?GINI KA I NA ELI?
8.I'm off to bed?A NABAAM.or KAM JEE LARU ULA(i'm off to sleep)
9.Goodnight=Kachifo?
10.I want water= Ine miri?BIKO NYEM MMIRI (hence Hausa dey call Igbo Nyamiri)
11.I'm hungry=?AGU NA AGUM.
12.I love you=Afunnaya?AFUM GI N'ANYA

Thanks guys
Nsogbu adiro. NO PROBLEM
Old 09-28-2006, 03:57 PM   #5 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474868 Omosewa is a legendOmosewa is a legendOmosewa is a legendOmosewa is a legendOmosewa is a legendOmosewa is a legendOmosewa is a legendOmosewa is a legendOmosewa is a legendOmosewa is a legendOmosewa is a legend

Thanks Tomapep, you're too much!

Arinze na u know

Mel, ok...
Old 09-28-2006, 04:17 PM   #6 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474873 tomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legend

Actually how did your day go should be more KEDU KA UBOSI GI SI GA? What I originally typed was "how is/was your day?"

Last edited by tomapep; 09-28-2006 at 05:23 PM..
tomapep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 04:26 PM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by tomapep
Actually how did your day go should be more KEDU KA UBOSI GI SI GA? What I originally typed was "how is/was your day?"
Thanks. And i pronounce it the way it's written?
Old 09-28-2006, 04:36 PM   #8 (permalink)

Location: "I have yet to be bored by someone paying me a compliment"__ Otto Van Isch
Bank: 3,667,745.21
Total Points: 3,692,082.06
Rep Power: 21474867 Chickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legend

Please!!!

1.Hello=Dalu?
2.How are you?
3.I'm fine=Odima?
4.How was your day?
5.What are you doing?
6.Where are you going?
7.What are you eating?
8.I'm off to bed?
9.Goodnight=Kachifo?
11.I'm hungry=?
12.I love you=Afunnaya?

Thanks guys
1.hello is not "dalu" hello is "ndewo"
2. Kedu or kedu ka idi?
3. kedu ka ubochi gi di? or aha???
brb am in class

muah ... of course dear. Wendy aka Chickram will always be special to me and to you are endless blessings. You are a legend, a woman of valour, a great success and this coming year ... all this and more shall be fulfilled in your life. amen
The real tragedy of our post colonial world is not that the majority of people had no say in whether or not they wanted this new world; it is that the majority have not been given the tools to negotiate this new world __Half of a Yellow Sun

This nationalism that means we should aspire to indifference about our own individual cultures is stupid__Half of a Yellow Sun

One of the obstacles to African development is having a generation that identifies more with their adopted land than their native land___Inter guardian-african paper

Akwanwa...asa mpete oyoyo...elelebe eje oru...egede nwa puturu mummy wota 2 shame....Bekee ike....eleganza baby...african chikito numba 1.....elelebe ukwu egbuo ewu..cheeeeeeeei! Baby m, i gbuola m oooo...nma gi n'agbam ara hia steadily steadily.....bia ka m kpa gi aka o?

Nne m, i ga adigide ruo mgbe ebighi ebi^^

Rest in peace D4Dude.
Chickram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 04:41 PM   #9 (permalink)

So when do i use dalu?
Old 09-28-2006, 05:29 PM   #10 (permalink)

So when do i use dalu?
Dalu is used for thank you.
However it is also used for greeting, like "dalu nu" to a group of people, ""dalu olu" to some one working. So this makes me think that dalu is a sort of acknowledging.

For thanks you could say "i mee na" which translates roughly as "you have done well". Where I come from we would say "ngo" for thanks or even "ahinze gi" (arinze in other dialects)

Can;t help with the pronounciation. You'd need to hear it, as Igbo is very tonal.
Old 09-28-2006, 06:25 PM   #11 (permalink)

Location: "I have yet to be bored by someone paying me a compliment"__ Otto Van Isch
Bank: 3,667,745.21
Total Points: 3,692,082.06
Rep Power: 21474867 Chickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legend

So when do i use dalu?
dalu=thank u

5.What are you doing?........ke ihe i na-eme?
6.Where are you going?........ke ebe i na-eje(aga)?? or i jega ole?(dats imostate dialect)
7.What are you eating?.......ke ihe i na-eri?
8.I'm off to bed?.......a lakpu wego mu
9.Goodnight=Kachifo?...... yes
10.I want water= Ine miri?....a cho mu mmiri
11.I'm hungry=?......agu na-agu mu
12.I love you=Afunnaya?....ahu mu gi n'anya......btw, ifunanya=love(which is wat u was trynna write)

am still in class. brb

muah ... of course dear. Wendy aka Chickram will always be special to me and to you are endless blessings. You are a legend, a woman of valour, a great success and this coming year ... all this and more shall be fulfilled in your life. amen
The real tragedy of our post colonial world is not that the majority of people had no say in whether or not they wanted this new world; it is that the majority have not been given the tools to negotiate this new world __Half of a Yellow Sun

This nationalism that means we should aspire to indifference about our own individual cultures is stupid__Half of a Yellow Sun

One of the obstacles to African development is having a generation that identifies more with their adopted land than their native land___Inter guardian-african paper

Akwanwa...asa mpete oyoyo...elelebe eje oru...egede nwa puturu mummy wota 2 shame....Bekee ike....eleganza baby...african chikito numba 1.....elelebe ukwu egbuo ewu..cheeeeeeeei! Baby m, i gbuola m oooo...nma gi n'agbam ara hia steadily steadily.....bia ka m kpa gi aka o?

Nne m, i ga adigide ruo mgbe ebighi ebi^^

Rest in peace D4Dude.
Chickram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 11:28 PM   #12 (permalink)

Total Points: 1,228.80
Rep Power: 263468 Wing_Commander is a legendWing_Commander is a legendWing_Commander is a legendWing_Commander is a legendWing_Commander is a legendWing_Commander is a legendWing_Commander is a legendWing_Commander is a legendWing_Commander is a legendWing_Commander is a legendWing_Commander is a legend

Please!!!

1.Hello=Dalu?
2.How are you?
3.I'm fine=Odima?
4.How was your day?
5.What are you doing?
6.Where are you going?
7.What are you eating?
8.I'm off to bed?
9.Goodnight=Kachifo?
11.I'm hungry=?
12.I love you=Afunnaya?

Thanks guys
hello= ndewo
how are u= kedu K'idi
i'm fine=adim nma
how was ur day= ke ka uboshi gi gara
what are u doing= gini k'ineme
where are u going= ebe k'inaga
what are u eating=gini k'ineri
i'm off to bed= alapuwegom, alabawanam
goodnight= kachifo
i want water= achom nmiri
i'm hungry= nni n'agum
i love u = ahurum gi n'anya
Old 09-28-2006, 11:31 PM   #13 (permalink)

Total Points: 1,228.80
Rep Power: 263468 Wing_Commander is a legendWing_Commander is a legendWing_Commander is a legendWing_Commander is a legendWing_Commander is a legendWing_Commander is a legendWing_Commander is a legendWing_Commander is a legendWing_Commander is a legendWing_Commander is a legendWing_Commander is a legend

So when do i use dalu?
Dalu means thank u
but can also be used as well done or job well done "dalu olu/oru"
u can also use it as a general greeting when addressing a congregation "dalu nu oh"
Old 09-28-2006, 11:50 PM   #14 (permalink)

I'll be back in a week, after i've mastered these ones.
Old 09-29-2006, 01:05 AM   #15 (permalink)

Bank: 576.02
Total Points: 10,290.62
Rep Power: 215998 sapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legend

Originally Posted by Wing_Commander
hello= ndewo
how are u= kedu K'idi
i'm fine=adim nma
how was ur day= ke ka uboshi gi gara
what are u doing= gini k'ineme
where are u going= ebe k'inaga
what are u eating=gini k'ineri
i'm off to bed= alapuwegom, alabawanam
goodnight= kachifo
i want water= achom nmiri
i'm hungry= nni n'agum
i love u = ahurum gi n'anya
what dialect are you using?