Old 09-25-2006, 03:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Born Into Excellence...

Bank: 172,946.40
Total Points: 173,355.40
Rep Power: 211718 Haleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legend

Default Tribal marks .....

are Nigerians getting ashamed of tribal marks these days ?? we do not brand our kids with those marks anymore. why ??
Old 09-25-2006, 03:52 AM   #2 (permalink)

Bank: 5,637,359,507.48
Total Points: 5,637,436,637.86
Rep Power: 21474891 Clockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legend

Of what use are tribal marks in today's world?

Pass me the salt... my head hurts!
At the end of the day, it all comes down to money.
Jdramas pwn kdramas... period.

Forever loving: Coffee House.

Michael Jackson comes in love. L.O.V.E!

I dare to DAIR!
Clockwatcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 06:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Born Into Excellence...

Rep Power: 211718 Haleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legend

Originally Posted by Clockwatcher
Of what use are tribal marks in today's world?
Well, the use of tribal marks in today's world is not exactly in question- it is why and how the cultural tradition has faded and anything interesting that can be added to the subject of tribal marks
Old 09-25-2006, 09:04 AM   #4 (permalink)

Bank: 234,398.29
Total Points: 270,703.44
Rep Power: 2838716 Ikeja is a legendIkeja is a legendIkeja is a legendIkeja is a legendIkeja is a legendIkeja is a legendIkeja is a legendIkeja is a legendIkeja is a legendIkeja is a legendIkeja is a legend

Well, the use of tribal marks in today's world is not exactly in question- it is why and how the cultural tradition has faded and anything interesting that can be added to the subject of tribal marks
"USE" is the question. as far as i know..majority if not all of the tribes in naija that mark children..do it as a form of "branding"
in the old days..it was good for knowing what village/tribe a person came from(u know.."u can marry from here, but u can't marry from there" ). So, now that most of us speak english(or some form of it), so many people from different tribes/villages live together/interact and alot of the animosity between alot of tribes has faded away...what's the use?
when NRyders start trying to leave your life for you, then something is wrong.

Last edited by Ikeja; 09-25-2006 at 09:08 AM..
Ikeja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 09:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
Sweetheart

Bank: 2,513,903,016.68
Total Points: 2,514,011,117.98
Rep Power: 21368040 Lopez is a legendLopez is a legendLopez is a legendLopez is a legendLopez is a legendLopez is a legendLopez is a legendLopez is a legendLopez is a legendLopez is a legendLopez is a legend

Tribal marks is just stupid
Only Barbarians shud been seen with it

Lopezino is now a born again...No more bitchassness
Lopez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 04:13 PM   #6 (permalink)

Bank: 9,918.53
Total Points: 11,563.12
Rep Power: 634950 omoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legend

i remember when they were putting them on my cousins and they wanted to put them on us. chei u fit see how my mama challenge them.

There are better ways to express your culture than branding your kids. Considering how tribalistic Nigerians are that is not necessarily a good thing.
Old 09-25-2006, 04:29 PM   #7 (permalink)

Bank: 7.64
Total Points: 258,018.14
Rep Power: 21474890 askimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legend

tribal marks=
really need they be that gruesome looking? i don't know that i am totally against them per se, as i am against how extreme some can be.

Last edited by askimoli; 09-25-2006 at 07:15 PM..
askimoli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 04:36 PM   #8 (permalink)

Total Points: 180.00

i wont say we are ashamed of branding ourselves, its more a case of its no longer in fashion (it used to be fashion statement back then) besides in my books its as barbaric as female circumcision
iyawo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 06:24 PM   #9 (permalink)

Bank: 5,637,359,507.48
Total Points: 5,637,436,637.86
Rep Power: 21474891 Clockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legend

Originally Posted by iyawo
i wont say we are ashamed of branding ourselves, its more a case of its no longer in fashion (it used to be fashion statement back then) besides in my books its as barbaric as female circumcision
Pretty much what she (and others) have said.

Cultures evolve and move with the times. There's absolutely no need for tribal marks in today's world so what's the point of continuing such a barbaric act? It has nothing to do with shame.

Pass me the salt... my head hurts!
At the end of the day, it all comes down to money.
Jdramas pwn kdramas... period.

Forever loving: Coffee House.

Michael Jackson comes in love. L.O.V.E!

I dare to DAIR!
Clockwatcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 06:36 PM   #10 (permalink)

Bank: 127,310.37
Total Points: 150,140.37
Rep Power: 4490547 Nwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legend

Originally Posted by Clockwatcher

Cultures evolve and move with the times. There's absolutely no need for tribal marks in today's world so what's the point of continuing such a barbaric act? It has nothing to do with shame.
jem there goes ya ans.

end of stori.
hmmm, nowadays rat wan be cat, how can u be an Igwe when u no be Nwafor? soon e go be fulani pple wey go say dey be igwe…
Learn simple Igbo
http://www.igbofocus.co.uk/html/learn_igbo.html
Nwashigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 08:14 PM   #11 (permalink)
Born Into Excellence...

Originally Posted by Spectacula
jem there goes ya ans.

end of stori.
lol, ok

do igbo people have tribal marks though ?? neva seen any
Old 09-26-2006, 12:55 AM   #12 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474913 Lady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legend

y dnt u go n get one?

Old 09-26-2006, 01:49 AM   #13 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474938 *DiamOnd* is a legend*DiamOnd* is a legend*DiamOnd* is a legend*DiamOnd* is a legend*DiamOnd* is a legend*DiamOnd* is a legend*DiamOnd* is a legend*DiamOnd* is a legend*DiamOnd* is a legend*DiamOnd* is a legend*DiamOnd* is a legend

Originally Posted by ACM
y dnt u go n get one?
LMAO ABI u read my mind..
if they mean so much to her..why not get them herself
hell we can help carve them for her..nonsense

Old 09-26-2006, 01:50 AM   #14 (permalink)
Born Into Excellence...

Originally Posted by ACM
y dnt u go n get one?
i have one ... but it aint on ma face, lol
Old 09-26-2006, 02:03 AM   #15 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474913 Lady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legend

where is it? on ur butt?