Old 09-18-2006, 04:52 PM   #1 (permalink)

Bank: 95,883.41
Total Points: 95,914.41
Rep Power: 22981 niajersey girl is a legendniajersey girl is a legendniajersey girl is a legendniajersey girl is a legendniajersey girl is a legendniajersey girl is a legendniajersey girl is a legendniajersey girl is a legendniajersey girl is a legendniajersey girl is a legendniajersey girl is a legend
Default Makeup Advice, please help!

Lately, my skin has been acting up bad. It has gotten a lot better lately. But I have uneven skin now. It's blotchy. I am starting some treatments this weekend at a spa with exfoliation to even out my skin tone. In the meantime I have been using some marykay foundation but I don't like the way it looks. I have sensitive skin and It gets clogged easily so I need a recommendation for a brand that has darker shades and does not clog pores and looks natural. This is just a temporary fix until I get my skin tone even again because I would rather go without makeup all together. I have tried a lot of different ones but they have given me issues.

MAC, Marykay, Susan dewitt, black opal, revlon, loreal hip, make up forever, ect. - all clogging - going into the trash.

I'm thinking about trying clinique or nars. Has anyone used these.
Old 09-18-2006, 08:56 PM   #2 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474871 pebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legend

Have u tried covergirl. I don't use foundation but it looks good. The have a new whip type now, it's supposed to lightweight and blend well with most ppl's complexion.

Old 09-20-2006, 05:15 PM   #3 (permalink)

Rep Power: 22981 niajersey girl is a legendniajersey girl is a legendniajersey girl is a legendniajersey girl is a legendniajersey girl is a legendniajersey girl is a legendniajersey girl is a legendniajersey girl is a legendniajersey girl is a legendniajersey girl is a legendniajersey girl is a legend

Originally Posted by pebbles
Have u tried covergirl. I don't use foundation but it looks good. The have a new whip type now, it's supposed to lightweight and blend well with most ppl's complexion.

I've tried covergirl queen collection before. For some reason it just seems as though the US doesn't invest in making more shades for people with richer skin tones. Also there is not a great selection of brands either. A lot of cosmetics created for women of color are drugstore brands that are often low end quality made with inferior ingredients. I guess we are not the target audience. It's a shame.
Old 09-20-2006, 08:30 PM   #4 (permalink)

Bank: 36,425,694.12
Total Points: 36,469,704.12
Rep Power: 21474876 Wendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legend

Originally Posted by niajersey girl
Lately, my skin has been acting up bad. It has gotten a lot better lately. But I have uneven skin now. It's blotchy. I am starting some treatments this weekend at a spa with exfoliation to even out my skin tone. In the meantime I have been using some marykay foundation but I don't like the way it looks. I have sensitive skin and It gets clogged easily so I need a recommendation for a brand that has darker shades and does not clog pores and looks natural. This is just a temporary fix until I get my skin tone even again because I would rather go without makeup all together. I have tried a lot of different ones but they have given me issues.

MAC, Marykay, Susan dewitt, black opal, revlon, loreal hip, make up forever, ect. - all clogging - going into the trash.

I'm thinking about trying clinique or nars. Has anyone used these.
The best advice i can give u is to not apply anything on ya face since its undergoing treatment. i went thru same thing 3months ago due to my use of Proactiv. yes it was bad, but depending on the treatment u r goin under, u shud be set in @least 3wks. infact i went to a dermatologist jes so i kno it will be treated. i didn't use no foundation and till now still haven't gotten one. not becos am afraid, but am jes broke and lazy wearing my own face hasn't been anymore fun..u will get thru it

Old 09-20-2006, 08:34 PM   #5 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474876 Wendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legendWendydoks is a legend

I've tried covergirl queen collection before. For some reason it just seems as though the US doesn't invest in making more shades for people with richer skin tones. Also there is not a great selection of brands either. A lot of cosmetics created for women of color are drugstore brands that are often low end quality made with inferior ingredients. I guess we are not the target audience. It's a shame.
i've noticed dat as well. dats why i take a trip to the mall to have them prescribe me my own shade. yep, it costs but its berra than buyin them over the counter foundation dat will mess u up and still cost u in some way.

i used to use ermmmm... (damn am blank right about now)... but am now thinkin about tryin MAC since its made 4 colored i guess?? don't quote me abeg.

Old 09-20-2006, 10:18 PM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Wendydoks
i've noticed dat as well. dats why i take a trip to the mall to have them prescribe me my own shade. yep, it costs but its berra than buyin them over the counter foundation dat will mess u up and still cost u in some way.

i used to use ermmmm... (damn am blank right about now)... but am now thinkin about tryin MAC since its made 4 colored i guess?? don't quote me abeg.
I tried MAC, it was unkind to my skin. Caused a lot of clog pores. They went away once I stopped using it. But they do have very nice shades for people of color. And my skin is more sensitive than most. I love their eyeshadows and lip gloss.
Old 09-20-2006, 10:19 PM   #7 (permalink)

I tried MAC, it was unkind to my skin. Caused a lot of clog pores. They went away once I stopped using it. But they do have very nice shades for people of color. And my skin is more sensitive than most. I love their eyeshadows and lip gloss.
sorry I didn't read the part about not quoting you.
Old 09-20-2006, 10:22 PM   #8 (permalink)

sorry I didn't read the part about not quoting you.
my dear. didn't mean it literally .....i remember the name of the one i was usin...its called "Fashion Fair". have u tried "Iman"??? i heard its gud aswell. hopefully my skin will tolerate MAC sha

Old 09-21-2006, 12:43 AM   #9 (permalink)

i've tried Fashion fair too. It was ok. I don't remember if it was clogging but I know it has red undertones and most people of color have yellow undertones so fashion fair comes off looking very orangey - not a very natural look.
Old 09-21-2006, 08:24 PM   #10 (permalink)

A lot of cosmetics created for women of color are drugstore brands that are often low end quality made with inferior ingredients. I guess we are not the target audience. It's a shame.
the part in bold is ur biggest misconception. I vouch by a couple of drugstore brands like posner , max factor - they are non comeodonic (sp) Neutrogena also used to be very good but they stopped stocking my color two times! so I agree with u when u say we rn't their target audience. I suggest u try posner 'cause I also have very sensitive skin and it doesn't cause any problems for me . There's a brand called milani also , I tried their powder and it's great but I haven't tried their foundation yet, so I can't vouch for it , can't vouch for iman products either but u could try them out. With regards to blemishes and blotchy skin I would recommend trying vantex and hidden beauty skin enhancing cream , both are by fashion fair
pics below

Old 09-21-2006, 08:27 PM   #11 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Wendydoks

not worth the trip to the mall. I used estee lauder , elizabeth arden , clinique etc but the prices were high but they didn't meet expectations. I finally settled for posner. It's oil free and just wonderful , I've actually had a good experiece with all their products

Old 09-21-2006, 08:29 PM   #12 (permalink)

i've tried Fashion fair too. It was ok. I don't remember if it was clogging but I know it has red undertones and most people of color have yellow undertones so fashion fair comes off looking very orangey - not a very natural look.

yep! just like mac
I personally wouldn't go near revlon , covergirl , maybelline and all those ones u see on tv 'cause meeeeennnn they tear my skin up! I don't know how ppl get off using them

Old 09-21-2006, 10:27 PM   #13 (permalink)

wow. Thanks so much! I've always seen posner but never gave it a second look because I never heard of it. I will try it. As for vantex from fashion fair, I chucked that in the garbage. Didn't do a damn thing for me. Was expensive too. I've never tried hidden beauty cream but it sounds interesting. Have you heard of a site called makeupalley.com - it reviews a lot of products. I've been using it but it doesn't have a lot of reviews for products that women of color use.
Old 09-21-2006, 10:35 PM   #14 (permalink)

Bank: 127,310.37
Total Points: 150,140.37
Rep Power: 4490547 Nwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legend

Originally Posted by Nene
not worth the trip to the mall. I used estee lauder , elizabeth arden , clinique etc but the prices were high but they didn't meet expectations. I finally settled for posner. It's oil free and just wonderful , I've actually had a good experiece with all their products
hmm cool well i will check it out. yep like u said, maybellen and the rest of ya lists are actually worthless even covergirl.(2 me @least)..(lets not 4get l'oreal dat one is even worse!) i actually used pressed powered foundation. not really into the liquid form. never tried it tho and afraid 2. so u think posner will be nice in pressed powered form?
hmmm, nowadays rat wan be cat, how can u be an Igwe when u no be Nwafor? soon e go be fulani pple wey go say dey be igwe…
Learn simple Igbo
http://www.igbofocus.co.uk/html/learn_igbo.html
Nwashigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2006, 10:38 PM   #15 (permalink)

Bank: 127,310.37
Total Points: 150,140.37
Rep Power: 4490547 Nwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legendNwashigi is a legend

Originally Posted by Nene
i actually have never used dem products sha.(as far as cosmetics is concerned esp. foundation)....esp. nothin by clinique. but i have tried estee lauder's eye-shadows wasn't feelin dem. a
hmmm, nowadays rat wan be cat, how can u be an Igwe when u no be Nwafor? soon e go be fulani pple wey go say dey be igwe…
Learn simple Igbo
http://www.igbofocus.co.uk/html/learn_igbo.html
Nwashigi is offline   Reply With Quote