#1 (permalink) | ||
![]() Join Date: Jul 2002
I watched Tyra Show yesterday and God what they found under the microscope on a girl's make-up and make-up tools were scary. Scary swimming, worm looking stuff that can't be seen with regular eye.
I threw out my lip gloss yesterday; I have had it for almost a year. I had the mentality that I have to keep using it until it's finished. Stuff like mascara shouldn't be used for more than six months even better if you change it after three months. Those old make-up, hair brushes, and eye lash curlers that you never bother to clean, you need to start disinfecting them regularly. Remember to clean out your make-up case regularly too. I still get goose bumps whenever I remember what I saw.
![]() Join Date: Jan 2004
u sef aw u fit use lip gloss for a yr? u use it like once a wk or somn? the only thing i use for a year is my mac studio fix, cuz it lasts for a yr plus and i nor fit throw am away until am done with it.
![]() Join Date: Mar 2004
yup...thats the truth yall...especially applicator pads for powder and foundation...the best thing to do is just to buy a big bag from cvs and toss them like every couple of days.........
There are three elements to what may be described as a happy life: * a life that is fully utilized (i.e. a life of awareness and purposeful activism), * a life that is dedicated to a higher cause, * and a life that is lived in balance. While you will inevitably gain and lose, everything you lose may be regained, except one thing, time. Dr. Maher Hathout "The ink of the scholar is more sacred than the blood of the martyr." Prophet Muhammad(PBUH) |
I saw that episode too...ewww
but that aint gon stop me..wth? what i look like wasting ma $$ on make up every 2 weeks?? abeg as long as i wash ma face i'm str8
![]() Join Date: Feb 2004
[color=blue][b]BITCH: When I stand up for my beliefs and myself they call me a Bitch. When I stand up for those I love, they call me a Bitch. When I speak my mind, think my own thoughts or do things |
Gross.. maybe she doesn't wash her brushes. Lip gloss & mascara should definitely be tossed (direct contact w/ bodily fluids!), but I think eye shadows/blush/foundation, etc are okay as long as you wash your brushes.
A tip for lip glosses, use a lip brush instead of the brush that comes inside the gloss and dips directly into it. Again, as long as you wash your brush often, I think it would cut down on bacteria. This way, your skin cells aren't basting & multiplying inside your gloss ![]() |
![]() Join Date: Feb 2001
Buy a good powder brush ...you can wash it with warm soapy water as often as you like .
I hate applicator pads ...even the way it feels when using it on your face feels so harsh. stick to applicator sponges for liquid/ mousse make up and get a brush for the powders. |