HOUSEWIFE & SUPERSTAR ![]() Join Date: Jun 2004
Can you please help narrate how it is in your village….mine coming up shortly
if you have pictures too that will help
We've got to take back the ideal of justice, We've got to take back this principle of human dignity We've got to take it back from vengeance, from hatred, We've got to say: look, we're all in this together. We are human beings. David Kaczynski
by the way in my village it is called igba nkwu(Anambra dialect) or ikpo nwanyi(umuahia dialect)
We've got to take back the ideal of justice, We've got to take back this principle of human dignity We've got to take it back from vengeance, from hatred, We've got to say: look, we're all in this together. We are human beings. David Kaczynski
y'all are not fun but let me start this series sha
IKPO NWANYI/IGBA NKWU NWANYI/ILU NWANYI so boy meets girl, both agreed to tie the 'nut'(ITK's this is a joke) so the boy goes to his parents then the parents will have to come to the family but not directly. In my own village we believe that marriage is fragile so you approach it differently 1st you get onye mbawu(witness) this person will serve as the groom's agent...it is an insult for the groom to approach the parents of the bride directly....ugwu bu nkwi nkwi(respect is reciprocal). In most cases this is an elder in the bride's family and from the groom's family. So both sides needs agents to represent them, must be a fan of both too then this agent will accompany them to the bride's house...also make sure ur agent is knowledgeable abt the customs and very good in using and understanding proverbs...this is very critical(my cousin's agent fucked it up for him) will contd ![]()
Last edited by Sophia; 08-15-2006 at 08:36 PM.. |
any wayz, there are certain villages that you may want to think twice b4 approaching their chics due to high dowry and requirements...i think Ngwa is one of them
#5 (permalink) | |||||||||||
Anyhow, make I ask my mama, I will come back with mine ![]()
|||||||||||
yeah I need to get more details from my mom or sisters
Last edited by Sophia; 08-15-2006 at 11:49 PM.. |
yes dey do...that is wat makes it much fun to his them relate with proverbs
#14 (permalink) |
Crosseyed
![]() Join Date: Feb 2003
The Urhobo Marriage Process.
The marriage ceremony follows the meeting of both families. Both families would meet at the bride’s home. An advance notice is given to the bride`s family for the visit. On the said day, the groom’s family will arrive at the bride’s home. First the bride’s family will welcome them. Drinks and kola nuts supported with some money will be offered to the visiting family, as is customary in Urhobo tradition. A spokesman for the bride’s family will make the presentation of the drinks and kola nuts with the money to the visiting family. The visitor’s spokesman will accept the presentation on behalf of the groom’s family. After this initial customary entertainment, the visitors are asked the purpose of their visit. The visitors would inform the bride’s family that they have come to marry their daughter for their son, who may or may not be present at this protocol. If the bride’s family accepts this explanation, they would go through a process of the identification of the bride they wish to marry. The visitors would be told that the family has many daughters; as such, its members do not know which of their daughters their son would like to marry. The bride’s family would then bring out a girl who is not the bride, and parade this girl in front of the groom’s family. The groom would reject this girl saying that she was not the one he wants. This formality would be repeated about three times. Each time a girl is paraded and rejected, the groom’s family would be asked to pay the rejected girl some money. Finally, the bride is presented to the groom to confirm the true identity of his chosen bride. Once this process is concluded, the bride’s consent would then be obtained. That is, she will be asked if she is willing to marry the groom. The family of the bride can only receive the dowry if she consents to marry the groom. This process is only a formality on the day because in most cases, the dowry amount and all arrangements would normally have been agreed upon. That is, both families would have reached some understanding. The groom or his family would pay a dowry to the bride’s family. The dowry is the price money paid to the bride’s family on account of the bride. It is worth mentioning here that, it is customary that before the stage of pouring the libation is reached, that the potential husband and his family would pay several visits to the family of the bride to be. The purpose of these visits is to negotiate and to meet certain pre-marriage requirements stipulated by the bride’s family. For example: the dowry would be negotiated and agreed beforehand; the bride’s uncles, aunts and the bride’s father and mother would be bought several gift items, such as walking stick and hat, etc, for the bride’s father; wrapper, tobacco, etc., for her mother, and other items for her uncles, aunts, and other relatives. Upon acceptance of the dowry, the bride’s father pours a libation. The libation is poured using a native gin (ogogoro) or may be represented by Gordon gin and kola nuts. The bride’s father offers a prayer / blessing for the couple. At this point, the bride sits on the husband’s lap. The blessed drink is handed to the husband who drinks first; he then hands it to his wife to drink. The wife would drink and pass it back to her husband to finish, as a sign of respect. Then only are they declared husband and wife. Both family members present at the ceremony, would then shower the couple with money as gifts. http://www.urhobo.kinsfolk.com/Confe...ruvbetere.html
"Age is like beauty, it can not be hidden." "True love is like a ghost, we all talk about it, but nobody has ever seen one." "Politeness is a currency that enriches he who gives it and not he who receives it." "There is always a way out of it, you just haven't got to it yet" Nigeria We Hail Thee!!!!!
Last edited by Lefty; 08-16-2006 at 08:27 AM.. |