#62 (permalink) |
![]() Join Date: Apr 2003
what's the purpose of the coral benin girls wear y'all ? any benin chics in the house explain please
#64 (permalink) |
HOUSEWIFE & SUPERSTAR ![]() Join Date: Jun 2004
wooooow like that....hummmm i think we dress like that too but different headgear
We've got to take back the ideal of justice, We've got to take back this principle of human dignity We've got to take it back from vengeance, from hatred, We've got to say: look, we're all in this together. We are human beings. David Kaczynski
#65 (permalink) | |
i saw pics of my grandpa's mother getting married. she wore beads like that, but is shekiri. and there were more coral beads covering her more from head to toe... very beautiful
#66 (permalink) |
Coral beads are called Ivie in Bini. They are used in ceremonial occasions by the Binis and some other people that either originated or had close contact with them e.g Asaba, Agbor, Itsekiri. It is decorative like the gold used by Indian brides. They used to be really expensive but nowadays you have the questionable ones. It takes hours to get your hair done with coral for your trad. There are women who are specially trained to do it so it isn't a DIY project. The bride price in Benin is like 24 naira and when you divorce a woman you pay her family 31 naira. Like the bling bling from Neil lane for the oscars, a lot of the coral is very borrowed
#67 (permalink) |
HOUSEWIFE & SUPERSTAR ![]() Join Date: Jun 2004
thanks y'all learning good stuff here...i want coral beads too
We've got to take back the ideal of justice, We've got to take back this principle of human dignity We've got to take it back from vengeance, from hatred, We've got to say: look, we're all in this together. We are human beings. David Kaczynski
#68 (permalink) |
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jan 2003
how did I miss this thread?? I love it.... MORE MOREEEEE
![]() oh and yea, whether I marry a bini man or not, I'm so wearing corals and dat is that... can a bini person explain the marriage process pleaseee I freaking love the culture, somehow I think I belong in that culture ![]()
"Riro ni te'yan, Sese ni to'loun" ... "Man proposes, God disposes" Some Facts: I totally LOVE me some Rajon R, Dwayne J, Dwight H, T.I. and Chrisette M "Monkey yato si Chimpanzee" I will marry them in a heart beat! that's how serious the obsession is
#69 (permalink) |
![]() Join Date: Jul 2008
Nice!!
Been looking for info like this!!!!
Advertise your brand, business or product with us at http://www.repnaijaartists.com/our-services/ for more information http://www.freenaijalyrics.com ~Rep Naija Artists --------------------------------------------------- |