Old 08-07-2006, 10:33 PM   #1 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474938 Sophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legend

Cool AFRICAN RECIPES(only)

Feel free to share some African recipes…let us know if it is a special dish too... I know in my village Ukazi Soup (recipe coming soon) is mostly for special occasions

Shayo and Co....

Old 08-07-2006, 10:36 PM   #2 (permalink)

Total Points: 2,584,056,691.19
Rep Power: 21474888 fancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legend

Sophia do you guys make it like calabar people. my friend made it once for me. i want to learn to make it. pls post the recipe thanks
Chineke nna, Chineke okpala, Chineke Mmuo nso. Ezionye nweanyi na Chineke. Papa nke igwe. Eze ana ekpechara. Anam ayo gi ka i zobam. Di ilo nnolum na azu ka mu nnolu ha na ihu. ha nnolu na ihu ka mu nnolu na azu. AMEN

Old 08-07-2006, 10:39 PM   #3 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474938 Sophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legend

Originally Posted by fancy
Sophia do you guys make it like calabar people. my friend made it once for me. i want to learn to make it. pls post the recipe thanks
are you talking abt nkwobi?
I will try and post the receipe ASAP

Last edited by Sophia; 08-07-2006 at 10:44 PM..
Old 08-08-2006, 02:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lolo I of Nibo

Bank: 98,835.64
Total Points: 99,975.49
Rep Power: 13491 MIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legendMIprincess is a legend

hmmm hmmm Ukazi, i guess my umuahia side was good for some things Ofe Onugbu all the way though!!! :lol

Blessed by the Most High

Need some inspiration? Check out Heartlight for powerful words

"Ugo chara acha adi(ghi) echu echu"--Igbo proverb-
The eagle never flies low. One that is well trained will stand the test of time/will endure.

C'est Dieu qui donne la vie.
MIprincess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2006, 09:38 AM   #5 (permalink)

Rep Power: 1240992 Trespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legend

make una post recipes na

Old 08-08-2006, 12:34 PM   #6 (permalink)

Total Points: 5,210.20
Rep Power: 41216 tigresss is a legendtigresss is a legendtigresss is a legendtigresss is a legendtigresss is a legendtigresss is a legendtigresss is a legendtigresss is a legendtigresss is a legendtigresss is a legendtigresss is a legend

I use Ukazi to make different soups

I blend it with peper and crayfish and put it in my Afang to make it thick

I also put it in my edikikong sometimes (don’t know about the spellin but the taste is of the hook)

Can’t remember other s

Take this recipe for making beans to be served on the side with jellof rice and stewed meat;

A cup of beans boiled soft in only water

Fry about 4 diced tomatoes & some onions

Add ground pepper, and other spices to taste

Then drain the beans and fry along with the sauce for about 15 mins

And that’s ur special beans
tigresss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2006, 02:40 PM   #7 (permalink)

Thumbs up UKAZI SOUP(SOPHIA'S STYLE)

Ukazi Soup (my very own recipe)
This soup is for special occasions. It is our main soup in my village and the more things your add shows how wealthy you are…so on my wedding day you will be served this soup

Ingredients:
Eguisi(melon)
Ukpo or Achi(soup thickeners)
Achara(bamboo but the softer one)I don't know what they call it here
Ngara azu(small dry fish)
Ayiya(crayfish)
Azu okpo(dry fish)
Okporoko (stock fish)
Aku agbo(melon balls/biscuit) recipe coming up soon
Mgbe(kind of seafood, don’t know the English name)
Assorted anu (meat), also assorted bush meat and dry meat (kai to die for)
Manu nri (Palm oil)
Ukazi (shredded)

First cook your okporoko and other hard meat like cow leg and ox tail. Boil meat and azu okpo; add pepper and oil as the meat is boiling. Watch the tenderness, you do not want it to be soggy.
After add ukpo or achi…I prefer ukpo because of the taste. Allow few minutes and add ayiya and ngara azu and let it boil…. allow few minutes to boil, and then taste the sauce/soup to see if it is done. Also the color and the thickness of the broth should let you know if the ingredients are done.
At this time your soup should be slightly thick but not too thick like Eguisi soup…be careful adding Eguisi at this time because it also serves as soup thickener.
Allow it to boil for few minutes then add the aku agbo and achara…few more minutes for it to simmer then add Ukazi leaves. I use a little bit more of the leaves because I like to chew the leaves as I am eating my aku agbo.
I can’t estimate the time to use in cooking the soup; mine will be like 30 minutes or less not adding the time to cook the meat. I usually take hours to prepare before cooking, I don’t rush my cooking as it is something I do to “de-stress” sometimes.

Everyone has their own style of cooking it, remember this is my personal recipe

pardon any typos or gaps, i dey kind of busy today

Old 08-09-2006, 12:40 PM   #8 (permalink)

common y'all, share urs

Old 08-09-2006, 07:58 PM   #9 (permalink)

Total Points: 8,314.50
Rep Power: 156452 Ayoka is a legendAyoka is a legendAyoka is a legendAyoka is a legendAyoka is a legendAyoka is a legendAyoka is a legendAyoka is a legendAyoka is a legendAyoka is a legendAyoka is a legend

recipe for jollof rice

ingredients:
rice, tomato plum , peppers, onions, seasonings, oil or butta

instructions:
cook d rice for lyk 10 mins, den wash it , drain it out

whilst the rice bidness was happening you should of been blend the tomato plums wid d peppers and onions ( or if u wana be extra blend in tomatoes as well) then chuck it in d pot add the oil or butta let it cook n boil for a bit

chuck in the rice in d mixure, chuck in your seasonings and cook till the mixture has blended in a dryed up wid d rice...DONT LET D RICE BURN... oh yea add salt if u want

SERVE!!
Ayoka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2006, 07:58 PM   #10 (permalink)

Total Points: 8,314.50
Rep Power: 156452 Ayoka is a legendAyoka is a legendAyoka is a legendAyoka is a legendAyoka is a legendAyoka is a legendAyoka is a legendAyoka is a legendAyoka is a legendAyoka is a legendAyoka is a legend

recipe for jollof rice

ingredients:

instructions:

whilst the rice bidness was happening you should of been blend the tomato plums wid d peppers and onions ( or if u wana be extra blend in tomatoes as well) then chuck it in d pot add the oil or butta let it cook n boil for a bit

chuck in the rice in d mixure, chuck in your seasonings and cook till the mixture has blended in a dryed up wid d rice...DONT LET D RICE BURN... oh yea add salt if u want

SERVE!!
Ayoka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2006, 12:55 AM   #11 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Ayoka
recipe for jollof rice

ingredients:

instructions:

SERVE!!
nice

more people

Old 08-10-2006, 01:15 AM   #12 (permalink)

Rep Power: 116650 Nimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legend

FRIED RICE

This is a pic of the rice I made two weeks ago. It is from the recipe Shayo4real posted. I don't think she'd mind if I post the recipe. I made it and it was delish!

RECIPE:
rice
shrip
chicken
mixveg
knor
butter
seasoning(curry, salt, pepper, thyme)

1) boil chicken with seasoning
2) in a non stick pot, melt butter while melting the butter add your seasoning,thyme and curry(the indian kind not the jamo kind), then pour in rice(you have to eye the amount to make sure the butter is enough.....you dont want it to be too much just enough kinda stir fry the rice)
3)strain the liquid from the chicken that you boiled and add water to it...then pour it into the pot with the rice...let the rice cook...
4)fry your shrimp and cut the chiken into little strips
5) stirfry your mix vegies...
6) just before your rice is done cooking pour your chicken,shrip and mix vegies
7) let it simmer, you can opt to let it finish cooking in the oven....

Last edited by Nimotalai; 08-10-2006 at 02:05 AM..
Old 08-10-2006, 01:18 AM   #13 (permalink)

Rep Power: 116650 Nimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legend
Default SCOTCH EGGS

SCOTCH EGGS

My hubby loves my scotch eggs. This is how I make my scotch eggs. I normally do mine in the oven (rather than frying it) to reduce the fat. Scotch eggs are really fattening so at least doing it in the oven reduces your caloric intake.

sausage meat (turkey, pork or italian sausage),
Seasonings (optional but I use sage, onion powder, garlic powder, cayenne pepper, black pepper).
8 shelled hard-boiled eggs
1/2 cup flour
1 medium egg, beaten
1 1/2 cups fine breadcrumbs, for coating

-In a small bowl combine sausage meat with sesaonings.
-Divide sausage into 8 equal portions, flatten each portion to about 1/8-inch thickness.
-Roll each egg in flour and place on top of each sausage patty.
-Use each sausage patty to wrap around each egg until it is completely encased, pressing edges together to seal (wet or floured hands make this easier as the sausage geets really sticky).
-Beat the egg in a shallow dish and place breadcrumbs on a flat plate.
-Dip each sausage-coated eggs in beaten egg and roll in crumbs.
-Place on baking tray lined with aluminum foil and bake in oven at 375°F for 25 to 30 minutes. (turn it every 10 minutes or so so it browns evenly). You can choose to fry it if you wish.
- If you want the crust to be really crispy, spray it very lightly with oil spray (like Pam baking spray before baking).
-When I serve them I usually end up cutting them in half (I cut it in half, only because it takes so darn long to make them, and aint no way I can make 30 of these things for a party).

They are delish! enjoy
Old 08-10-2006, 01:19 AM   #14 (permalink)

Default MEAT PIE

MEAT PIE

Another of my most requested recipes. This is always the first to go at parties, and way easier to make than scotch eggs.

Meat Filling
-small potatoes, diced and cooked (to save time, use frozen hash brown potato cubes)
-lean ground beef (or chicken, or turkey)
-frozen mixed vegetables, cooked (I use the peas, carrots and corn mix)
-onion diced
-red and green sweet peppers, diced
- seasonings (salt, black pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, knorr/maggie etc...whatever you like)

Dough
1/2 cup butter (1 stick) (it should be cold and hard)
1 1/2 cups flour
1 teaspoon salt
4-6 tablespoons ice water

-Prepare the filling by browning your meat and spices. WHile it's cooking, stirfry your peppers and onion and veggies. Mix it all together. Taste and adjust seasoning to taste.

-Once ground beef is cooked, add the diced cooked potatoes and heat for 5 minutes. (not too much potatoes). The main purpose is to aborb excesss liquid from the meat mixture, so that you don't end up with soggy meat pies.

-To make dough: Sift together dry ingredients and cut the butter into the dry ingredients with a fork until mixture is crumbly.

-While mixing with a wooden spoon, add water a tablespoon at a time until dough holds together in a ball(you may need more or less water. Just add small amounts at a time). If the dough is crumbly, add a little more water by drops until the dough stays together when you pinch it.
-When dough comes together into a ball roll out the dough until.
-Cut out circles (I use a giant cookie cutter for this). If dough becomes sticky or too soft put in fridge for 10 minutes to cool and then take it out again and continue cutting the circles.
-Place meat stuffing in ceter of pastry circles.
-Fold over and seal using a fork.
-Bake on a lightly greased cookie sheet at 350 degrees for 35 minutes or until lightly browned.

Enjoy.....

Last edited by Nimotalai; 08-10-2006 at 02:01 AM..
Old 08-10-2006, 01:42 AM   #15 (permalink)

woooooooooooow, thank you