Old 08-12-2006, 01:58 AM   #61 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474938 Sophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legend

Originally Posted by Arinze
Nah they dont add tomatoes in yam pottage na
yes you can....it gives it a different sweet taste

read Nappy's recipe,,,,she adds like one sometimes

olodo

Old 08-12-2006, 12:44 PM   #62 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474867 Nappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legend

Originally Posted by Arinze
Nah they dont add tomatoes in yam pottage na
E be like say the air in New Jersey don dey poke hole in your brain self... I add it only to give body but it's optional oh Anyhow, my yam pottage always comes out tasting like the shitznitz Ehen, make I type out my banga soup jare
After interacting with Nappy on NR, I now know that Helen has nothing on her. Helen's face may have launched a thousand ships but had I the capacity, I would launch tens of thousands in Nappy’s honor
Originally Posted by Girlbully
I know you sometimes rub me the wrong way, but I think you are the coolest ryder EVER!!! Much love naps, much love

THROUGH UPS AND DOWNS, COME WHAT MAY, NAPPY CHICK WILL FOREVER BE MY FIRST LOVE ON NR!!!
Originally Posted by Guru
If only I was not a misogynistic ass who never dreamed that a female ryder could write haikus dedicated to me, I would not have given her ishuo in that thread
Originally Posted by Phantom
I honestly, without a doubt, think that Nappy Chick is a ryder after my own heart and I mean that sincerely
Originally Posted by Bubus and Arinze
Bubus and Arinze appreciate Nappy and you know why

Nappy, you jes kill me Really, you jes do
Originally Posted by Dibia
If not for the fact that Jersey Girl put e-juju in my e-tea, Nappy would have been my number 1…I still got love for her though
Originally Posted by Kulata
I kinda like Nappy. She is not like a yoruba woman. She says what she means and means what she says. However, she fit don dey tey for this site. Una know say cut off age na 23 and she don dey near am
Old 08-12-2006, 04:05 PM   #63 (permalink)
"Sofresh"

Bank: 4,357.96
Total Points: 4,657.96
Rep Power: 4192685 OluwaMeki is a legendOluwaMeki is a legendOluwaMeki is a legendOluwaMeki is a legendOluwaMeki is a legendOluwaMeki is a legendOluwaMeki is a legendOluwaMeki is a legendOluwaMeki is a legendOluwaMeki is a legendOluwaMeki is a legend

Nappy wats shitznitz ?
Old 08-12-2006, 05:27 PM   #64 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474867 Nappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legend
Default Recipe for banga soup....,

Recipe for banga soup. Ingredients:
Aku/Palm Kernel (if you are in Naija)
One can of palm kernel mix (if you are abroad)
Meat (cow leg, shaki, Okporoko, dry fish, Ice fish, beef....)
1 teaspoon curry
1 teaspoon thyme
2 tablespoons of crayfish
1 onion chopped up
1 teaspoon fiery salt (naija one, like the ground red ose)
1 - 3 tablespoons of flour (any type, optional)
Salt to taste
One bunch of dry bitter leaf (extremely optional. I've never used it but I heard people use it)

First off, cook your okporoko (we all know how long that takes!!!)... when okporoko is almost done, cook all your remaining meats. Make sure you season your meats with the spices listed above to give it some flavor. Also add the chopped onions.

When the meat is half way done, add the can of palm kernel mix to the pot. For those in Naija, put the palm kernel in your odo and pound it very well, not enough to crack the nuts though! Then put all the kernel and skin through a seive with a little water. Whatever mix you get should be used as your palm kernel mix for the soup.

While the soup is boiling, add your crayfish to the mixture. By this time, the soup might be watery. In this case, you can thicken it with a little bit of flour. Not to much oh!! You don't want it to be thick like egusi, that is not the essence of banga soup Anyhow, add your fish now (you don't want to over cook your fish) and add salt. Let soup cook for about 20 minutes. If you care (some folks do), add your dry/wet bitterleaf to the soup. If you are adding bitterleaf, please, rinse it very well so all the sand can get out. However, in the case of dry bitterleaf, soak it in hot water for a while before you add it to the soup. It cooks it up a bit. Let cook for another 5-10 minutes. Taste to make sure it is well seasoned and done. Remove from heat and serve with eba or iyan or tuwo or elubo or what have you... enjoy

Ps. If you made this in Naija, hmmm, we all know that the inner nut in the palm kernel is good for many purposes. As a kid (and even a teenager), I used to gather the nuts and crack it open to get the inner nut (it is smaller than the nut of the almond tree but oh, so sweet). Anyhow, these nuts make a good snack. Especially when they are fresh

After interacting with Nappy on NR, I now know that Helen has nothing on her. Helen's face may have launched a thousand ships but had I the capacity, I would launch tens of thousands in Nappy’s honor
I know you sometimes rub me the wrong way, but I think you are the coolest ryder EVER!!! Much love naps, much love

THROUGH UPS AND DOWNS, COME WHAT MAY, NAPPY CHICK WILL FOREVER BE MY FIRST LOVE ON NR!!!
If only I was not a misogynistic ass who never dreamed that a female ryder could write haikus dedicated to me, I would not have given her ishuo in that thread
I honestly, without a doubt, think that Nappy Chick is a ryder after my own heart and I mean that sincerely

If not for the fact that Jersey Girl put e-juju in my e-tea, Nappy would have been my number 1…I still got love for her though
I kinda like Nappy. She is not like a yoruba woman. She says what she means and means what she says. However, she fit don dey tey for this site. Una know say cut off age na 23 and she don dey near am
Old 08-13-2006, 03:57 AM   #65 (permalink)

Bank: 9,918.53
Total Points: 11,563.12
Rep Power: 634950 omoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legendomoge86 is a legend

ok ladies thanx for the recipes but do you guys ever cook big cuz these all look like small batches. personally i love cooking big cuz i have brothers who always wanna chop everything wey dey sight. and siblings who always drop by unannounced so how do i go about cooking these recipes in bigger batches?

and sophia
Nimo
Nappy
Old 08-13-2006, 04:19 AM   #66 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Meki
Nappy wats shitznitz ?
It means it's "da bomb" as we used to say back in the day.... Omo_naija86, sorry oh, I usually cook for a lil' amount of folks. Why don't you just double the recipe or triple it? It's just that when you start cooking in big batches, you start loosing the taste and stuff... it's harder... I think... anyhow, recipe for coconut candy coming right up

Old 08-13-2006, 05:14 AM   #67 (permalink)

Total Points: 42.04
Rep Power: 183 eveseh is a rep whore!eveseh is a rep whore!eveseh is a rep whore!eveseh is a rep whore!eveseh is a rep whore!eveseh is a rep whore!eveseh is a rep whore!eveseh is a rep whore!eveseh is a rep whore!eveseh is a rep whore!eveseh is a rep whore!

wow cool,but i dont know mo african food,i only know about rice
Old 08-13-2006, 12:28 PM   #68 (permalink)
Retired Voltron

Bank: 4,500.00
Total Points: 4,779.00
Rep Power: 272 Blackie2 is a rep whore!Blackie2 is a rep whore!Blackie2 is a rep whore!Blackie2 is a rep whore!Blackie2 is a rep whore!Blackie2 is a rep whore!Blackie2 is a rep whore!Blackie2 is a rep whore!Blackie2 is a rep whore!Blackie2 is a rep whore!Blackie2 is a rep whore!

COW HEART KEHHHHHHHH

EWWWWWWWW

but free aint easy

free is real

and realness is a ...

EVERYWHERE U GO EVERY WHERE U DEY
EVERYBODY WAN DO POWERSHOWWWWWWWWW
REACHEEEE BORDER
IMMIGRATION OFFICER DEY
HIM GO BLUFF U , WASTE UR TIME, CHANGE HIM PANTS COME DEY COMB DEY HAIR
DEM TIDY DEM TABLE AND THEN PULL DEM CHAIR
BEFORE HIM KNOW SAY U DEY FOR THERE
IF U NO TALK QUICK
HIM GO GO FOR SHIT
GO SHIT COME BACK AND U TALK TO AM
THEN U SURPRISE WHEN HIM SHACK FOR U
SAY U NO GO CROSS U NO GO CROSS TODAY
NA THAT TIME DEM GO START THEIR POWERSHOWWWWW

POWERSHOWWWWWWWWWWWWWW

--- FELA
Blackie2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2006, 03:10 PM   #69 (permalink)
"Sofresh"

Bank: 4,357.96
Total Points: 4,657.96
Rep Power: 4192685 OluwaMeki is a legendOluwaMeki is a legendOluwaMeki is a legendOluwaMeki is a legendOluwaMeki is a legendOluwaMeki is a legendOluwaMeki is a legendOluwaMeki is a legendOluwaMeki is a legendOluwaMeki is a legendOluwaMeki is a legend

nawao...my brain count is reducing....ur now be elder...thumbs up!

Originally Posted by Nappy Chick
It means it's "da bomb" as we used to say back in the day.... Omo_naija86, sorry oh, I usually cook for a lil' amount of folks. Why don't you just double the recipe or triple it? It's just that when you start cooking in big batches, you start loosing the taste and stuff... it's harder... I think... anyhow, recipe for coconut candy coming right up
Old 08-13-2006, 10:50 PM   #70 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474938 Sophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legend

Originally Posted by Blackie2
COW HEART KEHHHHHHHH

EWWWWWWWW

akuko

Old 08-14-2006, 01:03 AM   #71 (permalink)

Rep Power: 116650 Nimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legend
Default EWA RIRO (BEANS)

Ewa Riro (Beans)

I made some Ewa Riro this afternoon. It was pretty darn good if I do say so myself.

DIRECTIONS
  • two to three cups dried cowpeas (black-eyed peas) or similar boiled in salted and sugared water
  • 1/2 to 3/4 cup palm oil (or vegetable oil)
  • 1 onion, thinly sliced
  • 2 tomatoes chopped
  • Small piece of smoked/dried fish
  • 3 tea spoonfuls shrimp powder
  • red pepper flakes
  • salt and black pepper (use sparingly as smoked fish can be salty)
  • several ripe or near-ripe plantains (but not overly ripe)
What you do
  • Clean the black-eyed peas in water in a large pot. Soak them in water for at least an hour or overnight. (I usually soak my beans for several hours, and throw the water out, so that all the gas gets out. This controls flatulence from eating beans)
  • If using smoked or dried fish: remove bones and skin, rinse and soak in water, then dry. If using dried shrimp: grind the shrimp (or obtain already ground or powdered shrimp).
  • Place the beans in a large pot, add salt and pinch of sugar fill with water to just cover the peas. Bring to a slow boil, reduce heat, cover, and simmer until the peas are tender, thirty minutes to an hour. When cooked, the bean should be moist, but not standing in water.
  • While beans are cooking: Heat oil in a skillet. Fry the onions until slightly browned, then add tomatoes, and fish and dried shrimp (if desired). Mash and stir the mixture to form a sauce. Add salt, pepper, and cayenne or red pepper to taste.
  • Stir cooked beans into the onion-tomato mixture. Add buillon or Maggi cubes. Simmer for ten minutes. Taste and adjust for salt and pepper.
  • Serve beans with fried plantains side by side on a plate
Old 08-14-2006, 12:12 PM   #72 (permalink)
Crosseyed

Bank: 15,628,228.58
Total Points: 15,634,528.58
Rep Power: 3467672 Lefty is a legendLefty is a legendLefty is a legendLefty is a legendLefty is a legendLefty is a legendLefty is a legendLefty is a legendLefty is a legendLefty is a legendLefty is a legend

Originally Posted by African Athena
My recipe for afang...really couldn't be arsed typing it all over again, so here's the link:

African Athena come in here

And for the benefit of those who could care sod all to click the link, I've copied and pasted it for you (I'm magnanimous like that )

First of all, you blend pepper (fresh!!!), put that aside, pound the okazi (or blend it if you can't pound it) then put that aside as well, wash and chop up the spinach (ratio of spinach to okazi is round about 3 : 1) and put that aside.

Next put the meat and other meat parts and okporoko on the fire (with VERY LITTLE WATER!!!), add the condiments (i.e maggi and salt and such) and steam this.

That done, add the okazi to the pot of meat, add about half a cup of water and let that cook for a bit as well (okazi is a very tough veggie to chew and a such needs a long time to cook. That's why you add it first. You need to watch it though cos it soaks up water and could burn easily if you're not careful)

Afterwards you now add the chopped spinach and add the pepper on top. leave this to simmer down (you'll know this when the spinach darkens and reduces). Afterwards, stir the contents and leave for a further 10 - 15 mins. Then add the palm oil as required, stir it in and leave on low heat to simmer.

When ah get power small ah go add more recipes
thnx 4 dis, am gonna try it, am just too lazy to type recipes mehn but i dey come sha

"True love is like a ghost, we all talk about it, but nobody has ever seen one."

"Politeness is a currency that enriches he who gives it and not he who receives it."

"There is always a way out of it, you just haven't got to it yet"

Nigeria We Hail Thee!!!!!
Lefty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2006, 12:40 PM   #73 (permalink)

Bank: 5,637,359,507.48
Total Points: 5,637,436,637.86
Rep Power: 21474891 Clockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legendClockwatcher is a legend

Nimotalai I have never seen such red beans sha...

Pass me the salt... my head hurts!
At the end of the day, it all comes down to money.
Jdramas pwn kdramas... period.

Forever loving: Coffee House.

Michael Jackson comes in love. L.O.V.E!

I dare to DAIR!
Clockwatcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2006, 01:26 PM   #74 (permalink)

Rep Power: 116650 Nimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legend

LOL....I think it's my camera flash that makes it look soo bright.
Old 08-14-2006, 01:47 PM   #75 (permalink)

nice Nimotalai

keep it coming folks