Old 09-04-2006, 05:21 PM   #136 (permalink)

Rep Power: 116650 Nimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legend

Originally Posted by Xpensyv_Bodi
Nimo...like what and what did u add or remove? I'd appreciate it if u dont mind sharing abeg..

good job by the way..I've never tried buns. might give it a shot next
For example...I always add a little salt, especially when baking. No salt makes for a pretty tasteless dough. Not too much oh, just a little like 1/4 tspn salt per every cup of flour. I also added a few eggs to give the buns a richer taste, and a little bit of nutmeg(not too much just a pinch) and vanilla for better flavour.

When I try puff puff, I don't think I would add the eggs because it might make them too heavy, and I like puff puff when it's soft and light, but I'll probably try adding something else. I just try experimenting until I find the right mix. This was my first try at buns, and l like how it turned out, so I won't be changing anything. Everybody said it was really good and not to change it, so I'll keep it this way for now. I hope that helps.
BLAME IT ON THE BOOGIE!!!!!
I just can't I just can't I just can't control my feet!
Old 09-04-2006, 05:42 PM   #137 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474938 Sophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legend

Originally Posted by Nimotalai
For example...I always add a little salt, especially when baking. No salt makes for a pretty tasteless dough. Not too much oh, just a little like 1/4 tspn salt per every cup of flour. I also added a few eggs to give the buns a richer taste, and a little bit of nutmeg(not too much just a pinch) and vanilla for better flavour.

When I try puff puff, I don't think I would add the eggs because it might make them too heavy, and I like puff puff when it's soft and light, but I'll probably try adding something else. I just try experimenting until I find the right mix. This was my first try at buns, and l like how it turned out, so I won't be changing anything. Everybody said it was really good and not to change it, so I'll keep it this way for now. I hope that helps.
u go girl....we can get together and cook our butts off
yup...creating ur own personal style is the best way to go

Old 09-04-2006, 05:45 PM   #138 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474938 Sophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legend

Sophie...with regards to ur puffs...when u say "different"...what exactly is it? what ingredients are u adding/subtracting?

nne share ur magic biko...abiaghim nkem iche here mennn
hahahhahahaha, ahu di oke onu....to be honest i don't know what i did different this time...i think i just made the mixture thicker
no worries...i go let u know if i adopt a new style

Old 09-04-2006, 05:46 PM   #139 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Funred55
NIce thread y'all...I'm copying and pasting as we speak
any time dear, feel free to share some of urs too

Old 09-04-2006, 06:09 PM   #140 (permalink)

Total Points: 71,057.05
Rep Power: 4541627 shayo4real is a legendshayo4real is a legendshayo4real is a legendshayo4real is a legendshayo4real is a legendshayo4real is a legendshayo4real is a legendshayo4real is a legendshayo4real is a legendshayo4real is a legendshayo4real is a legend

Pls....what is iru?
i really cant explain it sha....its the stuff peepz put in efo/egusi.......its rare that u see peepz put it in gbegiri but its always been the way they cooked it in my pops village....u can definately still cook it without iru......

Old 09-04-2006, 06:13 PM   #141 (permalink)

Total Points: 39,152,376.94
Rep Power: 2470000000 Arinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legendArinze is a legend

@ Sophia.. na wa ooo, e be like say I go marry you oo. Whenever I see the pics of your food body go dey do me one kind. I wonna massage your puff-puffs and I wonna dip my dough in your egusi soup

@XB or woreva they call you... Big shame unto you! Abeg stop disgracing yourself in public, send ur questions to sophia via pm jare... agbaya oshi
Arinze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2006, 06:21 PM   #142 (permalink)

Rep Power: 116650 Nimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legend

Originally Posted by Sophia
u go girl....we can get together and cook our butts off
yup...creating ur own personal style is the best way to go
Sophia please oh...I will come and apprentice under you anyday. I've still got lots to learn.

Shayo4Real I asked my aunties yesterday, and they said Iru is "locust bean paste". I definitely can't get that here but they said it gives food a nice distinct flavour.
BLAME IT ON THE BOOGIE!!!!!
I just can't I just can't I just can't control my feet!

Last edited by Nimotalai; 09-04-2006 at 06:23 PM..
Old 09-04-2006, 06:32 PM   #143 (permalink)

Bank: 870,703.40
Total Points: 890,868.85
Rep Power: 624843 IMED is a legendIMED is a legendIMED is a legendIMED is a legendIMED is a legendIMED is a legendIMED is a legendIMED is a legendIMED is a legendIMED is a legendIMED is a legend

Ofe nsala recipe coming up soon.
IMED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 11:53 AM   #144 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474867 Nappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legend

Okay, my friend had a get together for the Carribean Day Parade and I decided to help out with some meals. Anywhoooz, here are my pics...

That one na my moin-moin... yummy... came out nice... Next up: chin chin

Yum yum... next I made some puff puff... although God go punish that yeast maker... my dough no rise as much as I thought But the puff puff came out really good and everyone liked it

I also made some egusi soup. Hmm, enough shaki and fish and that Naija chicken I got from the live chicken place down the road The camera no take the picture well sha, but I put up two pics make una see the difference....

Make una enjoy the pics. My meals and snacks were hits at the party
After interacting with Nappy on NR, I now know that Helen has nothing on her. Helen's face may have launched a thousand ships but had I the capacity, I would launch tens of thousands in Nappy’s honor
Originally Posted by Girlbully
I know you sometimes rub me the wrong way, but I think you are the coolest ryder EVER!!! Much love naps, much love

THROUGH UPS AND DOWNS, COME WHAT MAY, NAPPY CHICK WILL FOREVER BE MY FIRST LOVE ON NR!!!
Originally Posted by Guru
If only I was not a misogynistic ass who never dreamed that a female ryder could write haikus dedicated to me, I would not have given her ishuo in that thread
Originally Posted by Phantom
I honestly, without a doubt, think that Nappy Chick is a ryder after my own heart and I mean that sincerely
Originally Posted by Bubus and Arinze
Bubus and Arinze appreciate Nappy and you know why

Nappy, you jes kill me Really, you jes do
Originally Posted by Dibia
If not for the fact that Jersey Girl put e-juju in my e-tea, Nappy would have been my number 1…I still got love for her though
Originally Posted by Kulata
I kinda like Nappy. She is not like a yoruba woman. She says what she means and means what she says. However, she fit don dey tey for this site. Una know say cut off age na 23 and she don dey near am
Old 09-05-2006, 12:28 PM   #145 (permalink)

Bank: 493,104.87
Total Points: 500,171.12
Rep Power: 428984 blackbeautyngr is a legendblackbeautyngr is a legendblackbeautyngr is a legendblackbeautyngr is a legendblackbeautyngr is a legendblackbeautyngr is a legendblackbeautyngr is a legendblackbeautyngr is a legendblackbeautyngr is a legendblackbeautyngr is a legendblackbeautyngr is a legend

Originally Posted by Nappy Chick
Yum yum... next I made some puff puff... although God go punish that yeast maker... my dough no rise as much as I thought But the puff puff came out really good and everyone liked it

Did u try putting the dough near heat? Heat helps the dough with yeast rise. I do that when the weather gets cold.

The egusi soup looks tempting by d way.

Am I d only one dat puts tin tomatoes in her egusi? I've got different recipes for egusi. In one of them I put less palm oil and put in tin tomatoes. That's to still keep the red colour since palm oil isn't that good for us.
Old 09-05-2006, 01:01 PM   #146 (permalink)
Bekee

Bank: 141,863.54
Total Points: 155,980.09
Rep Power: 561716 Xpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legend

thank u jare! the one I made some day ago..I did add a pinch of salt sef lol!

Still ebe ano!

navigate *L*
Xpensyv_Bodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 01:01 PM   #147 (permalink)
Bekee

Rep Power: 561716 Xpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legendXpensyv_Bodi is a legend

Originally Posted by Sophia
hahahhahahaha, ahu di oke onu....to be honest i don't know what i did different this time...i think i just made the mixture thicker
no worries...i go let u know if i adopt a new style

no shaking

Still ebe ano!

navigate *L*
Old 09-05-2006, 01:07 PM   #148 (permalink)
Bekee

Originally Posted by Arinze
@

@XB or woreva they call you... Big shame unto you! Abeg stop disgracing yourself in public, send ur questions to sophia via pm jare... agbaya oshi

why shd I feel ashamed? bcos I asked bout other variations of a recipe? its like egusi soup..some ppl like to add tomato...some okra...some just straight egusi only. u can add or subtract an ingredient to create a diff twist to a common dish. I'm open to learning whenever I can..no big deal

abeg comot b4 I wound u...rubbish

Still ebe ano!

navigate *L*
Old 09-05-2006, 01:38 PM   #149 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474867 Nappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legend

Originally Posted by blackbeautyngr
Did u try putting the dough near heat? Heat helps the dough with yeast rise. I do that when the weather gets cold.

The egusi soup looks tempting by d way.

Am I d only one dat puts tin tomatoes in her egusi? I've got different recipes for egusi. In one of them I put less palm oil and put in tin tomatoes. That's to still keep the red colour since palm oil isn't that good for us.
Yes, I sometimes put tomato sauce in my egusi to give it color. Too much palm oil is not good for the body jare. I will take your advice and the next time I'm making puff puff, I go put am near heat. The thing do me like "film trick" when my dough no come rise as I been think
After interacting with Nappy on NR, I now know that Helen has nothing on her. Helen's face may have launched a thousand ships but had I the capacity, I would launch tens of thousands in Nappy’s honor
I know you sometimes rub me the wrong way, but I think you are the coolest ryder EVER!!! Much love naps, much love

THROUGH UPS AND DOWNS, COME WHAT MAY, NAPPY CHICK WILL FOREVER BE MY FIRST LOVE ON NR!!!
If only I was not a misogynistic ass who never dreamed that a female ryder could write haikus dedicated to me, I would not have given her ishuo in that thread
I honestly, without a doubt, think that Nappy Chick is a ryder after my own heart and I mean that sincerely

If not for the fact that Jersey Girl put e-juju in my e-tea, Nappy would have been my number 1…I still got love for her though
I kinda like Nappy. She is not like a yoruba woman. She says what she means and means what she says. However, she fit don dey tey for this site. Una know say cut off age na 23 and she don dey near am
Old 09-05-2006, 01:41 PM   #150 (permalink)

why shd I feel ashamed? bcos I asked bout other variations of a recipe? its like egusi soup..some ppl like to add tomato...some okra...some just straight egusi only. u can add or subtract an ingredient to create a diff twist to a common dish. I'm open to learning whenever I can..no big deal

abeg comot b4 I wound u...rubbish
O Arinze ka i na gwa okwu?? Nwoke ahu amaro esi ife obuna... Onye iberibe amaro esi osikapa mana ona etinye onu na eme "firi firi" dika nkite. Amadioha piakwa ya ike!!!!
Arinze boo, one loff