Old 08-07-2006, 03:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
FIRST LADY

Bank: 106,861,079.25
Total Points: 107,291,349.65
Rep Power: 21474895 Starlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legend

Question When Religion and Culture clash

I'm a very religious person, i also love culture and the idea of cultural preservation. Can you name instances where you believe that your culture clashes with your faith..

When you cry, I cry
I cry along with you

Wahalai Lai talia, gimme lighter, shebi shebi we're on fire Kini big deal, kini big deal, kini big deal, kini big deal
NS 1463

We're truly unruly and we should get sued
Starlomor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2006, 06:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
dada lomo

Bank: 658,765.41
Total Points: 662,947.21
Rep Power: 347779 Ebeezy is a legendEbeezy is a legendEbeezy is a legendEbeezy is a legendEbeezy is a legendEbeezy is a legendEbeezy is a legendEbeezy is a legendEbeezy is a legendEbeezy is a legendEbeezy is a legend

why dont you start?

for the most part, i believe my religion and my culture are in sync
"Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the LORD is to be praised."~Proverbs 31:30

~Word for the Year 2007~
"But the Lord my God is with me to help me, and to fight my battles."~2nd Chronicles 32:8

HI5 Me

MySpace
Ebeezy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2006, 07:47 PM   #3 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474938 Sophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legendSophia is a legend

Originally Posted by Ebeezy
why dont you start?

for the most part, i believe my religion and my culture are in sync
True, it is my opinion that many things were changed or diluted with the coming of our colonial masters. I know that prior to colonization there were many practices that would have clashed with my Christian belief like that the killing of twins

Old 08-08-2006, 10:35 AM   #4 (permalink)

Total Points: 5,210.20
Rep Power: 41216 tigresss is a legendtigresss is a legendtigresss is a legendtigresss is a legendtigresss is a legendtigresss is a legendtigresss is a legendtigresss is a legendtigresss is a legendtigresss is a legendtigresss is a legend

Culture and religion usually go hand in hand

to answer ur question - polygamy is acceptable in Ibo land but it will violate the culture Paul advocates for in the new testament
tigresss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2006, 10:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
Sir Lancelot
Tribunus Militum Consulari Potestate

Bank: 410,884,410.16
Total Points: 414,135,630.57
Rep Power: 21474942 Bubus is a legendBubus is a legendBubus is a legendBubus is a legendBubus is a legendBubus is a legendBubus is a legendBubus is a legendBubus is a legendBubus is a legendBubus is a legend

Originally Posted by tigresss
Culture and religion usually go hand in hand

to answer ur question - polygamy is acceptable in Ibo land but it will violate the culture Paul advocates for in the new testament
Which Ibo land?

Member: T-CAN, P-WAN, APPN, NGBC, CoHE, CDC
No disrespectfulness or bitchassness shall be tolerated.
Bubus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2006, 10:53 AM   #6 (permalink)

Rep Power: 41216 tigresss is a legendtigresss is a legendtigresss is a legendtigresss is a legendtigresss is a legendtigresss is a legendtigresss is a legendtigresss is a legendtigresss is a legendtigresss is a legendtigresss is a legend

Originally Posted by Bubus
Which Ibo land?

I thot i spelt it well but i meant both sides of the Niger - prior to invasion the tradition was the more money u have, the more wives u can buy oops sorry if u r a strong/wealthy man u should have a big family i.e. more wives - not compulsorily

do you want to move to that part of ibo land where this culture is still adhered to ?
Old 08-08-2006, 11:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
askimoli

Originally Posted by tigresss
I thot i spelt it well but i meant both sides of the Niger - prior to invasion the tradition was the more money u have, the more wives u can buy oops sorry if u r a strong/wealthy man u should have a big family i.e. more wives - not compulsorily

do you want to move to that part of ibo land where this culture is still adhered to ?
ermmmmm polygamy is pretty much "practiced" everywhere. I would not say it is accepted in igbo land, people practice it, but it is not necessarily accepted cause majority of igbo's are christians, catholics to be exact, and they would not practice polygamy as devout catholics.

on the culture versus religion, there is just somn about igba nkwu that is kinda paganish, i know my mom is always torn btw taking part in igba nkwu, she finds it hard to find a middle ground
Old 08-08-2006, 01:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
FIRST LADY

Rep Power: 21474895 Starlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legendStarlomor is a legend

Funny story... My sister and i were talking about premarital sex.. and she was asking me if premarital sex part of our culture.. since, growing up, we'd hear older pipu advising younger men o get their wife-to be pregnant before marriage. I had to correct the misconception... actually, according to our culture, a woman is s'pose to be a virgin... they use to have this ritual where pipu would wait outside, while the man goes in to have sex with his wife for the first time.. he's s'pose to come back out with a stained white linen, signifying that the wife was a virgin (sorta disgusting though) .. That the REAL CULTURE

When you cry, I cry
I cry along with you

Wahalai Lai talia, gimme lighter, shebi shebi we're on fire Kini big deal, kini big deal, kini big deal, kini big deal
NS 1463

Old 08-08-2006, 01:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
FIRST LADY

what about our arts and craft... alot of christians would not display it cause they believe it is a form of idolatry

When you cry, I cry
I cry along with you

NS 1463

Old 08-08-2006, 01:43 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by askimoli
ermmmmm polygamy is pretty much "practiced" everywhere. I would not say it is accepted in igbo land, people practice it, but it is not necessarily accepted cause majority of igbo's are christians, catholics to be exact, and they would not practice polygamy as devout catholics.

on the culture versus religion, there is just somn about igba nkwu that is kinda paganish, i know my mom is always torn btw taking part in igba nkwu, she finds it hard to find a middle ground

read my 1st post

B4 the invasion means b4 christianity in every form (catholic or otherwise) came to naija - man and more than one wife was accepted tradition or at least practised peacfully and respectablly - still is the case up north
Old 08-08-2006, 03:43 PM   #11 (permalink)
dada lomo

Bank: 658,765.41
Total Points: 662,947.21
Rep Power: 347779 Ebeezy is a legendEbeezy is a legendEbeezy is a legendEbeezy is a legendEbeezy is a legendEbeezy is a legendEbeezy is a legendEbeezy is a legendEbeezy is a legendEbeezy is a legendEbeezy is a legend

Originally Posted by Starlomor
Funny story... My sister and i were talking about premarital sex.. and she was asking me if premarital sex part of our culture.. since, growing up, we'd hear older pipu advising younger men o get their wife-to be pregnant before marriage. I had to correct the misconception... actually, according to our culture, a woman is s'pose to be a virgin... they use to have this ritual where pipu would wait outside, while the man goes in to have sex with his wife for the first time.. he's s'pose to come back out with a stained white linen, signifying that the wife was a virgin (sorta disgusting though) .. That the REAL CULTURE
we all have to remember that culture is always changing. What Yoruba culture was 400 years ago, is not Yoruba culture in 2006. That goes for any culture.

like Tigress said, after to the religious influx into Nigerian ethnic cultures, there have been some kind of merger/compromise between the two. So I would say in 2006, my culture and my religion are similar.

on displaying cultural artwork, I haven't heard that you can't display some statues because they're idols. I know a lot of Christians that have African Art proudly displayed in their homes. I even know some that make statues and other African arts and are religious leaders.
"Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the LORD is to be praised."~Proverbs 31:30

~Word for the Year 2007~
"But the Lord my God is with me to help me, and to fight my battles."~2nd Chronicles 32:8

HI5 Me

MySpace
Ebeezy is offline   Reply With Quote