![]() Join Date: Jun 2001
Why are people always trying to convert others into the whole natural hair thing?? golly that shit is not for everybody oh abeg.i have seen some people carry it well and others that need to make an appointment for a perm ASAP. it's almost like every time you say you're having trouble with your hair, the next thing is "go natural". i had natural hair for 16 years growing up in naija and it was not a picnic. if you know how to take good care of your hair, you can definitely have healthy permed hair.
pppwheeewwww...........just had to get that out there. Feel much better now ![]() |
![]() Join Date: May 2002
amen! amen!! amen!!!!
i'm not alone oh!!! help me tell them oh!
If my father has stolen, I will... ** Attend the very best school in the world and walk shoulder high (Educational Investment) ** Organize charity fund just like the 'better life For Rural Women' and government officials will contribute more (...talk about the rich getting richer) ** Own properties in choice countries/ locations and drive 'tear rubber' vehicles (property Investment) ** Be the toast of the town where musician will sing praise me (Social well being) ** Owning a jet or airplane wouldn't be an issue (Ease of transportation) ** Streets/avenues will be named after me (grass root investment) ** Arrange prayers for my father in churches and mosques to ward off evil spirit and untimely death (Spiritual upliftment) ** Advice my father to marry more wives and take more chieftaincy tittles across the board (evenly distribution of wealth) ** Donate 'chairs' to tertiary institutions for under privilege children ** Have shares in blue chips companies ** Wouldn't have to struggle in life But my father didn't have the opportunity to steal otherwise I wouldn't be in diaspora searching for the proverbial green pastures. http://www.nigeriavillagesquare.com/...s-a-thief.html |
![]() Join Date: Nov 2005
ya kno? shuo i had the so called nattural hair @ one point and cudn't wait to perm the shege out! i have a very stuborn hair. I refuse to be shedding tears while combing my hair!! hell naw!!!!!
![]() Join Date: Oct 2005
i consider my hair natural, but i don't wear an afro. i think "natural" hair can be for every one because that's how you came out
with natural hair. it's just sometimes hard for us to find a way to do our hair natural without braids because we're used to the convenience of chemicals. if you want to try it though, i think this forum is a good place to keep exchanging ideas. good luck |
@ happy you don't have coco hair.
when i was younger, hair dresser either refused to do my hair cos it was so thick and nappy, or i cried the whole time it was getting done. Even @ age 16, i had nightmares when i had to loosen my hair and wash it.
If my father has stolen, I will... ** Attend the very best school in the world and walk shoulder high (Educational Investment) ** Organize charity fund just like the 'better life For Rural Women' and government officials will contribute more (...talk about the rich getting richer) ** Own properties in choice countries/ locations and drive 'tear rubber' vehicles (property Investment) ** Be the toast of the town where musician will sing praise me (Social well being) ** Owning a jet or airplane wouldn't be an issue (Ease of transportation) ** Streets/avenues will be named after me (grass root investment) ** Arrange prayers for my father in churches and mosques to ward off evil spirit and untimely death (Spiritual upliftment) ** Advice my father to marry more wives and take more chieftaincy tittles across the board (evenly distribution of wealth) ** Donate 'chairs' to tertiary institutions for under privilege children ** Have shares in blue chips companies ** Wouldn't have to struggle in life But my father didn't have the opportunity to steal otherwise I wouldn't be in diaspora searching for the proverbial green pastures. http://www.nigeriavillagesquare.com/...s-a-thief.html |
![]() Join Date: Oct 2005
#7 (permalink) | ||||||||||
My hair is very thick and strong. Seriously. But the reason I went natural was just because of stress and tired of spending money and time on my hair. It's just so low maintenance now. I don't comb it. I just wash and go. I once let it grow. I hated it. It became a chore. So..... I cut it back down and just rock a low 'fro.... GO NATURAL!!!!! Okay, you guys know I'm kidding when I say that. I don't really recruit my friends to try it. It's good for me
||||||||||
![]() Join Date: Jun 2001
i remember having to get my hair done every week and going through the ordeal of taking it out, combing it and then getting it plaited again. and don't even talk about that once in a month shampooing (i know how nasty that sounds, but that shege was torture). i begged my mom to let me put a perm. I even decided to go the barber shop with my bro when i was like 8 and had a buzzcut for a couple of years. she finally agreed for awards night in SS 3.(shey you remember QC awards night when all the nachies got their hair permed?) anyway sha, to each his own. either way you go just keep it beautiful girls. |
LoLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL
i got a perm awards night too oh! LoLLLLL i can never forget the pain i went thru. i'll book a hair appointment to thread my hair and run to wash it, so that by the time i'm done, my turn will just be coming up and i can get it done without it drying out completely. After the week of threading i can go back to normal weaving. and i had to do this every other week. I really did my time with nachie hair men, i don't know if i can ever go back. *shudder*
![]() Join Date: Feb 2004
you couldnt have said it better my dear me am a broke ass student and i cant afford to go the heairdresser evertime i see a split end so i do DIY. permin kit £5 (once a month) leave in conditioner £2 mayonniase £2 a lil bit of things on the side and im good. its all about KNOWING how to look after your hair, my hair is growing faster than it was when it was natural. im happy and so is my hair (my 2cents)
[color=blue][b]BITCH: When I stand up for my beliefs and myself they call me a Bitch. When I stand up for those I love, they call me a Bitch. When I speak my mind, think my own thoughts or do things |
I beg to differ. Natural hair is not for everyone...
For sure i was born with Natural hair but i am sure that if it was for me, i would not have had to PERM my hair at the age of THREE. All through college, i kept the whole LOW EVE cut...and it was nice...with the texturizers and what not...i knew how to do my thing. But now my hair is longer and i have a PERM and i am loving it too. I feel like if you know how to take care of your hair, then either way you have it, is all peaches... THIS FALL i am following the trend of LACE FRONT...we will see how it goes. I am all about experimenting.
<embed src="http://widget.slide.com/widgets/slideticker.swf" quality="high" scale="noscale" salign="l" flashvars="site=widget.slide.com&channel=2974486" wmode="transparent" width="700" height="220" name="flashticker" align="middle" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer"/> |
My head was like forest, and my mother had to sit me in the tub to wash it, and it was down the back. i rebelled and cut it off by age 10. I maintained back length natural hair for 2 years (i was scared of perms), and it wasnt that much of a challenge, but my current job requires something that is extremely easy to maintain and doesnt take 1hr to comb before i can step out. so i got a perm. A MIZANI perm, it is the bestest perm out there. doesnt burn.
#15 (permalink) |
Born Into Excellence...
![]() Join Date: Jan 2006
lmao,
well i guess the whole big deal about the natural hair is that its sososo easy and to all who are saying its tough and coarse -- all you need to do is get used to it and then find a good ocnditioner like Pantene Pro-V that will soften your hair like crazy. For most who are truly frustrated, it is a way out, a way of less stress and most who are dedicated to it become satisfied with their results as i have seen so far. It is just an issue of convenience, saving time and less expense i guess and oh, not having to jump from hair dresser to hair dresser -- esp here where its hard to find ppls who can really do ur hair and do it well. it is jus a good option dat why sometimes, i do not cease to suggest it when i come across someone overly annoyed with the hassles of finding hair supplies to do certain things to the hair, general upkeep etc etc well, i went natural cus i think the idea of going for trims every 4-6 weeks, perms every 3 months , paying large sums to hairdressers etc etc is just very ridiculous to me. I neither had the time nor the convenience for that. I also hated having hot curling irons run thru my hair everytime i wanted to do something stylish and different to the hair -- all dat heat was a turn - off and the perms were receding my hair line mehn -- lol, sometimes you wish ur hair was jus like the caucasians -- hehe anyways, power to you all with the permed hair
familiar stranger ... Last edited by Jem; 08-04-2006 at 04:06 AM.. |