Old 05-11-2006, 06:34 PM   #226 (permalink)
No Angel

Bank: 7,536,896,672.27
Total Points: 7,537,300,712.75
Rep Power: 21474888 bored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legendbored is a legend

Originally posted by jerseygirl
........ ..........

"Those who wish to love and sing always find a song" :A Swedish Proverb.

Si Hoc Legere Scis Nimium Eruditionis Habes

Originally posted by jerseygirl
Where oh where could my little bored be?
Could she actually be hiding from me?
I've searched this board, high and low
written witty comebacks....but she's a no show

I know she is addicted...of this fact I'm sure
Or could it be that she don't love me no more
Come back and bring some more sunshine to my dreary day
with the colorful and mischievous things you say

I'll patiently wait for you to return to me...
please make it soon...I fear for what might be
My boredom has driven me to rhyme
Stop lurking and post, so we can have a swell time
bored is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2006, 06:37 PM   #227 (permalink)

Bank: 669,035.50
Total Points: 707,586.50
Rep Power: 71794 jerseygirl is a legendjerseygirl is a legendjerseygirl is a legendjerseygirl is a legendjerseygirl is a legendjerseygirl is a legendjerseygirl is a legendjerseygirl is a legendjerseygirl is a legendjerseygirl is a legendjerseygirl is a legend

Originally posted by bored
My wealth, for a ride on her turnpike
My crown, for a trip down her tunnel
In Jersey, i'd slowly drive through, pausing to savor the view
I'd coast through each curve, marveling as I swerve
If I ever got thirsty, I'd swing by the dairy
And on top of that hill, I'd stop and drink up my fill
I'd soak in each sound she makes,
As I wet my tongue in her lakes
I'd camp out in her subway
With only love as a token
For one night in Jersey, I'd solemnly pray
Please lord, grant me this, lest my poor heart be broken
Alas, it seems this shall not come to pass
In vain, I wait and strive to attain.
My eyes, for a glimpse
My hands, for a touch
My tongue, for a taste
With my heart, I would gladly part
All this, just for one night in Jersey.
jerseygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2006, 07:02 PM   #228 (permalink)
Allomancer

Bank: 7,641,373.06
Total Points: 7,690,893.18
Rep Power: 3695605 Turums is a legendTurums is a legendTurums is a legendTurums is a legendTurums is a legendTurums is a legendTurums is a legendTurums is a legendTurums is a legendTurums is a legendTurums is a legend

Originally posted by bored
thanks

What about the "Good morning," and the "how do you say" bits?
Good morning depends on where you are from/ who you're talking to. For the most part, dibia's response that question is correct.

although in my place we say Iteele. (Have you woken up?)

How do you say- Kedu etu e si a si or Kedu etu i si a si
Kedu - how
etu- do
e -they or i-you
si a si- do to say

so a sentence like "How does one say 'dog' in Igbo?"
would be
Kedu etu e si a si 'dog' n'Igbo?

Best Independent Film of the year. Buy the DVD at http://www.nighttofly.com
Turums is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2006, 08:19 PM   #229 (permalink)
Custos Mortui

Bank: 105,914.21
Total Points: 108,014.21
Rep Power: 812577 Anubis is a legendAnubis is a legendAnubis is a legendAnubis is a legendAnubis is a legendAnubis is a legendAnubis is a legendAnubis is a legendAnubis is a legendAnubis is a legendAnubis is a legend

Originally posted by Obiageli
ke'm kwanu?

Oby, Igbo gi na-ato uto also

Mors ultima linea rerum est.

For every solution there is a problem.

Anubis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2006, 08:24 PM   #230 (permalink)
Custos Mortui

Rep Power: 812577 Anubis is a legendAnubis is a legendAnubis is a legendAnubis is a legendAnubis is a legendAnubis is a legendAnubis is a legendAnubis is a legendAnubis is a legendAnubis is a legendAnubis is a legend

Originally posted by dibia
...Anubis, serious props jare. E be like say na you go teach Level 2 of this course. All these students don begin dey ask questions wey I no fit answer....its funny, I'd never even heard anybody say 'I hate you' in Igbo till you typed it out earlier in the thread.

Nnaa, jide ka i ji.

You are doing a marvellous job. Please carry on. Whenever I have the opportunity, I will definitely chirp in if I have answers to any unanswered ones.

Ndi Igbo turu ilu si " A nyukoo mamiri onu, o gbaa ufufu!"

Old 05-11-2006, 08:47 PM   #231 (permalink)
Custos Mortui

Originally posted by coBra
who can translate:

- Crocodile.
- Bear.
Crocodile= aguiyi, agummiri

This literally translates into "Lion of the river/stream"; a befitting title for this lordly descendant of the mighty dinosaurs.

Alligator=Oba/Obammiri. (this is pronounced exactly like the yoruba word for "King").....Note....translations to this may vary dialectically.

Boa constrictor/Anaconda= Eke mmiri or Eke mmili
Bear....hmmm.

Bears do not exist in Igboland, and so there are no Igbo words I know for this animal. This is clearly a good case of intelligence and perception being limited by language and semantics. Another word for which our forefathers had no translation is "Snow". However, with time, ingenious words are/will be coined for these things.

Snow=Aku mmiri igwe.... which is technically "Hail"

Bear= I have often heard it interpreted "agu ikpa" which literally translates to "lion of the wilderness". Take this with a pinch of salt though because other words may arise in the future if they have not already arisen.

Old 05-11-2006, 09:18 PM   #232 (permalink)
aku

Bank: 7,911.21
Total Points: 7,956.21
Rep Power: 39903 aku is a legendaku is a legendaku is a legendaku is a legendaku is a legendaku is a legendaku is a legendaku is a legendaku is a legendaku is a legendaku is a legend

..that's the literal translation. Otutu/Ututu is morning, and oma is fine/nice/good. I've never said that to anyone either though. We always just said 'Gudu mohneen' to my grandparents.
They also say...............I bola chi, or something like that. It means have you risen
aku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2006, 02:20 PM   #233 (permalink)
ASAMPETE

Total Points: 7,150.61
Rep Power: 542693 Oderah is a legendOderah is a legendOderah is a legendOderah is a legendOderah is a legendOderah is a legendOderah is a legendOderah is a legendOderah is a legendOderah is a legendOderah is a legend

..LOL...i just realized how funny it is that i'm actually teaching ppl how to speak Igbo...hilarious...I mean I understand the language and all, but every Igbo speaker who hears me actually speak it, usually ends up rolling on the floor. Its all good sha. In the land of the blind, the one-eyed man is king. Y'all can just call me Mazi Cyclops
lol @ mazi cyclops

Color me blessed by God

"Ibos can make water out of stone"
-Wole Soyinka

Oderah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2006, 02:28 PM   #234 (permalink)
ASAMPETE

Total Points: 7,150.61
Rep Power: 542693 Oderah is a legendOderah is a legendOderah is a legendOderah is a legendOderah is a legendOderah is a legendOderah is a legendOderah is a legendOderah is a legendOderah is a legendOderah is a legend

more igbo translations

lion- odumegwu
leopard- agu
grasshopper- osu okpo
wall gecko- agu uno/ulo
fly-ijiji
eagle- ugo
dove-ndulu
egbe- kite
cat- pussu
dog-nkita
monkey-adaka
gorilla-ozo
pig-ezi
cow- efi/ehi
tortoise-mbe
spider- ududo
oyamu-ududo(spider web)

Color me blessed by God

"Ibos can make water out of stone"
-Wole Soyinka

Oderah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2006, 01:23 PM   #235 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474874 tomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legend

I have an Igbo Bible, anyone want a passage?
I don't do tone-marking though.