Old 07-30-2006, 12:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Born Into Excellence...

Bank: 172,946.40
Total Points: 173,355.40
Rep Power: 211718 Haleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legend

Default Ogini ???

igbos pls, dnt mind my spelling in the header...

can someone explain the whole Osu ( did i get it right ) phenomenon that says a person cannot marry from a certain other family or region/village because they are outcasts or they are not acceptable ...

who is an outcast then ? i jus want to know before i start wanting to marry one igbo and they tell me "mba"

also, is it only when you belong to a royal family that you shave your head and the children shave their heads when the father dies ??
Old 07-30-2006, 12:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
1 to Infinity

Bank: 424,236.68
Total Points: 427,307.18
Rep Power: 3140065 NNE1 is a legendNNE1 is a legendNNE1 is a legendNNE1 is a legendNNE1 is a legendNNE1 is a legendNNE1 is a legendNNE1 is a legendNNE1 is a legendNNE1 is a legendNNE1 is a legend

igbos pls, dnt mind my spelling in the header...

can someone explain the whole Osu ( did i get it right ) phenomenon that says a person cannot marry from a certain other family or region/village because they are outcasts or they are not acceptable ...

who is an outcast then ? i jus want to know before i start wanting to marry one igbo and they tell me "mba"

also, is it only when you belong to a royal family that you shave your head and the children shave their heads when the father dies ??

according to what i heard the osu phenom are people who gave themselves as living sacrifice to specific deities in Igboland and thus married to those deities and their descendants as well stay married to the deity. But the osu thing actually was done by individuals as means of protection from being booties of war or protection from being taken into slavery. Most igbo areas banned the marginalization of the osu culture but unfortunately banning has not prevented many igbos from avoiding "osufied" descendants. Its pretty sad.

No not only royal families shave their heads when father dies. Initially everyone is supposed to but now some families opt not to do it because of christianity. One side of my family is royal and the other is not and i we have lost people on both sides and since both are very traditional individuals in both families shaved their heads.

I ruff Chimaobi

QUOTE]Originally posted by Christ I've done my bit, but I need these clowns to meet me halfway! /QUOTE]

nne1 appreciates all gedem ryders
NNE1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2006, 12:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Born Into Excellence...

Rep Power: 211718 Haleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legend

Originally Posted by nne1
according to what i heard the osu phenom are people who gave themselves as living sacrifice to specific deities in Igboland and thus married to those deities and their descendants as well stay married to the deity. But the osu thing actually was done by individuals as means of protection from being booties of war or protection from being taken into slavery. Most igbo areas banned the marginalization of the osu culture but unfortunately banning has not prevented many igbos from avoiding "osufied" descendants. Its pretty sad.

No not only royal families shave their heads when father dies. Initially everyone is supposed to but now some families opt not to do it because of christianity. One side of my family is royal and the other is not and i we have lost people on both sides and since both are very traditional individuals in both families shaved their heads.
... dat is not an easy thing to do.
Old 07-30-2006, 12:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
1 to Infinity

Rep Power: 3140065 NNE1 is a legendNNE1 is a legendNNE1 is a legendNNE1 is a legendNNE1 is a legendNNE1 is a legendNNE1 is a legendNNE1 is a legendNNE1 is a legendNNE1 is a legendNNE1 is a legend

ok to shave ur head or what?

oh i wanna add that when a mother dies too u shave ur head.

I ruff Chimaobi

QUOTE]Originally posted by Christ I've done my bit, but I need these clowns to meet me halfway! /QUOTE]

Old 07-30-2006, 01:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Born Into Excellence...

ok to shave ur head or what?

oh i wanna add that when a mother dies too u shave ur head.
... have u ever shaved ur head ?? so if i say i refuse to shave my head nko ? shey they will allow me ...
Old 07-30-2006, 01:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
1 to Infinity

... have u ever shaved ur head ?? so if i say i refuse to shave my head nko ? shey they will allow me ...

yeah u can refuse but u pay a fine. my aunt did and she paid a fine and was banned from womens meetings or something of that nature. Me not for the death of anyone. my dad did though when my grand dad died

I ruff Chimaobi

Old 07-30-2006, 01:37 PM   #7 (permalink)

Bank: 1,698.38
Total Points: 6,540.38

igbo ppl and their wahala!!!
Old 07-30-2006, 01:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
1 to Infinity

Originally Posted by sultan of mojo
igbo ppl and their wahala!!!

I ruff Chimaobi

Old 07-30-2006, 01:40 PM   #9 (permalink)

Bank: 1,698.38
Total Points: 6,540.38

its true, too much drama
Old 07-30-2006, 01:49 PM   #10 (permalink)

Bank: 1,556,243.90
Total Points: 1,557,224.72
Rep Power: 1313414 bree is a legendbree is a legendbree is a legendbree is a legendbree is a legendbree is a legendbree is a legendbree is a legendbree is a legendbree is a legendbree is a legend

every culture get wahala
bree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2006, 02:24 PM   #11 (permalink)
Born Into Excellence...

yeah u can refuse but u pay a fine. my aunt did and she paid a fine and was banned from womens meetings or something of that nature. Me not for the death of anyone. my dad did though when my grand dad died
women's meeting ?? ..... lol, that, i do not mind.
Old 07-30-2006, 02:28 PM   #12 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474867 Nappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legend

Until you go need them for something and dem no go gree help you. Na then your eye go clear and dem go hit you with BIG FINE
women's meeting ?? ..... lol, that, i do not mind.
After interacting with Nappy on NR, I now know that Helen has nothing on her. Helen's face may have launched a thousand ships but had I the capacity, I would launch tens of thousands in Nappy’s honor
Originally Posted by Girlbully
I know you sometimes rub me the wrong way, but I think you are the coolest ryder EVER!!! Much love naps, much love

THROUGH UPS AND DOWNS, COME WHAT MAY, NAPPY CHICK WILL FOREVER BE MY FIRST LOVE ON NR!!!
Originally Posted by Guru
If only I was not a misogynistic ass who never dreamed that a female ryder could write haikus dedicated to me, I would not have given her ishuo in that thread
Originally Posted by Phantom
I honestly, without a doubt, think that Nappy Chick is a ryder after my own heart and I mean that sincerely
Originally Posted by Bubus and Arinze
Bubus and Arinze appreciate Nappy and you know why

Nappy, you jes kill me Really, you jes do
Originally Posted by Dibia
If not for the fact that Jersey Girl put e-juju in my e-tea, Nappy would have been my number 1…I still got love for her though
Originally Posted by Kulata
I kinda like Nappy. She is not like a yoruba woman. She says what she means and means what she says. However, she fit don dey tey for this site. Una know say cut off age na 23 and she don dey near am
Old 07-31-2006, 10:06 AM   #13 (permalink)

Total Points: 2,584,056,691.19
Rep Power: 21474888 fancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legend

i shaved my hair when my father past. I was not suppose to but i did it to pay him last respect. My mom had to shave her hair and eyebrown. my brother and my uncles.
Chineke nna, Chineke okpala, Chineke Mmuo nso. Ezionye nweanyi na Chineke. Papa nke igwe. Eze ana ekpechara. Anam ayo gi ka i zobam. Di ilo nnolum na azu ka mu nnolu ha na ihu. ha nnolu na ihu ka mu nnolu na azu. AMEN

Old 07-31-2006, 10:15 AM   #14 (permalink)

Total Points: 2,584,056,691.19
Rep Power: 21474888 fancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legendfancy is a legend

@jem pls whatever you do, when you meet an igbo guy don't ask him if he is an OSU. I almost got my face slapped before cos i was curious. Also it does not apply to nor igbo so if you want to marry an igbo guy don't worry about the OSU garbage. personally i don't believe it that shit.
Chineke nna, Chineke okpala, Chineke Mmuo nso. Ezionye nweanyi na Chineke. Papa nke igwe. Eze ana ekpechara. Anam ayo gi ka i zobam. Di ilo nnolum na azu ka mu nnolu ha na ihu. ha nnolu na ihu ka mu nnolu na azu. AMEN

Old 07-31-2006, 01:50 PM   #15 (permalink)

Rep Power: 116650 Nimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legend

Shaving head thing when somebody dies also applies to bini people too. Even more scary is when a husband dies the wife has to shave her head, is barred from using her right hand to do anything for something like 40 days, no showers, and they paint your face black with coal, and then you are not even allowed to attend your husbands burila on top of all this. You are sequestered, you can't do anything or go anywhere. My mum had to go through this when my dad died. I'm half bini, but bini culture kind of scares me man. Too much mysticism.

Somebody should start a thread on mourning rituals.