Old 07-30-2006, 12:26 PM   #1 (permalink)

Bank: 870,703.40
Total Points: 890,868.85
Rep Power: 624843 IMED is a legendIMED is a legendIMED is a legendIMED is a legendIMED is a legendIMED is a legendIMED is a legendIMED is a legendIMED is a legendIMED is a legendIMED is a legend
Default Omugwo Nwaata ofu- Part 5

After the new bride gives birth to a baby, it is expected of the Mum to go and stay with her and care for both the new wife and the baby>After which when she is ready to leave, the husband takes his mother in law shopping and buys lots of stuff for her and deposits heavily into her bank account as a sign of his appreciation to her for taking time to come over and take care of his wife and baby.
IMED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2006, 09:53 PM   #2 (permalink)

Location: "I have yet to be bored by someone paying me a compliment"__ Otto Van Isch
Bank: 4,458,167.23
Total Points: 4,483,404.08
Rep Power: 21474868 Chickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legend

my ?tion is, does it still happen now in yankee and jand??? i doubt it. esp. when the mom has a job. like who is going to leave her job 2 come and take care of ya child??

muah ... of course dear. Wendy aka Chickram will always be special to me and to you are endless blessings. You are a legend, a woman of valour, a great success and this coming year ... all this and more shall be fulfilled in your life. amen
The real tragedy of our post colonial world is not that the majority of people had no say in whether or not they wanted this new world; it is that the majority have not been given the tools to negotiate this new world __Half of a Yellow Sun

This nationalism that means we should aspire to indifference about our own individual cultures is stupid__Half of a Yellow Sun

One of the obstacles to African development is having a generation that identifies more with their adopted land than their native land___Inter guardian-african paper

Akwanwa...asa mpete oyoyo...elelebe eje oru...egede nwa puturu mummy wota 2 shame....Bekee ike....eleganza baby...african chikito numba 1.....elelebe ukwu egbuo ewu..cheeeeeeeei! Baby m, i gbuola m oooo...nma gi n'agbam ara hia steadily steadily.....bia ka m kpa gi aka o?

Nne m, i ga adigide ruo mgbe ebighi ebi^^

Rest in peace D4Dude.
Chickram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2006, 11:59 PM   #3 (permalink)

Bank: 870,703.40
Total Points: 890,868.85
Rep Power: 624843 IMED is a legendIMED is a legendIMED is a legendIMED is a legendIMED is a legendIMED is a legendIMED is a legendIMED is a legendIMED is a legendIMED is a legendIMED is a legend

my ?tion is, does it still happen now in yankee and jand??? i doubt it. esp. when the mom has a job. like who is going to leave her job 2 come and take care of ya child??
I have no idea whether it does or does not happen in present day society-I'm only saying it like it's done.
IMED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2006, 12:15 AM   #4 (permalink)

Location: "I have yet to be bored by someone paying me a compliment"__ Otto Van Isch
Bank: 4,458,167.23
Total Points: 4,483,404.08
Rep Power: 21474868 Chickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legendChickram is a legend

Originally Posted by Demi
I have no idea whether it does or does not happen in present day society-I'm only saying it like it's done.
daalu so.

muah ... of course dear. Wendy aka Chickram will always be special to me and to you are endless blessings. You are a legend, a woman of valour, a great success and this coming year ... all this and more shall be fulfilled in your life. amen
The real tragedy of our post colonial world is not that the majority of people had no say in whether or not they wanted this new world; it is that the majority have not been given the tools to negotiate this new world __Half of a Yellow Sun

This nationalism that means we should aspire to indifference about our own individual cultures is stupid__Half of a Yellow Sun

One of the obstacles to African development is having a generation that identifies more with their adopted land than their native land___Inter guardian-african paper

Akwanwa...asa mpete oyoyo...elelebe eje oru...egede nwa puturu mummy wota 2 shame....Bekee ike....eleganza baby...african chikito numba 1.....elelebe ukwu egbuo ewu..cheeeeeeeei! Baby m, i gbuola m oooo...nma gi n'agbam ara hia steadily steadily.....bia ka m kpa gi aka o?

Nne m, i ga adigide ruo mgbe ebighi ebi^^

Rest in peace D4Dude.
Chickram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 07:04 PM   #5 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474874 tomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legendtomapep is a legend

Yes and no. Yes, because in Igbo igwebuike, so family does all it can to help. No, because Grandma may not stay with the new family for an extended period, but she/her friends will still support the new mum in a variety of ways.
Old 10-06-2006, 07:32 PM   #6 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474867 Nappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legend

My husband must to have mama wey dey Naija wey don dey retire oh... because my mama dey Yankee dey do "Olu Oyibo" she can only take a few weeks off But that one dey for future sha
After interacting with Nappy on NR, I now know that Helen has nothing on her. Helen's face may have launched a thousand ships but had I the capacity, I would launch tens of thousands in Nappy’s honor
Originally Posted by Girlbully
I know you sometimes rub me the wrong way, but I think you are the coolest ryder EVER!!! Much love naps, much love

THROUGH UPS AND DOWNS, COME WHAT MAY, NAPPY CHICK WILL FOREVER BE MY FIRST LOVE ON NR!!!
Originally Posted by Guru
If only I was not a misogynistic ass who never dreamed that a female ryder could write haikus dedicated to me, I would not have given her ishuo in that thread
Originally Posted by Phantom
I honestly, without a doubt, think that Nappy Chick is a ryder after my own heart and I mean that sincerely
Originally Posted by Bubus and Arinze
Bubus and Arinze appreciate Nappy and you know why

Nappy, you jes kill me Really, you jes do
Originally Posted by Dibia
If not for the fact that Jersey Girl put e-juju in my e-tea, Nappy would have been my number 1…I still got love for her though
Originally Posted by Kulata
I kinda like Nappy. She is not like a yoruba woman. She says what she means and means what she says. However, she fit don dey tey for this site. Una know say cut off age na 23 and she don dey near am
Old 10-06-2006, 07:33 PM   #7 (permalink)

Bank: 7.64
Total Points: 258,018.14
Rep Power: 21474890 askimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legendaskimoli is a legend

it depends, for parents in naija with their kids in the states, the mothers usually come over and stay for like 6mths or so. Depending on the fam though