Old 07-30-2006, 11:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Sir Lancelot
Tribunus Militum Consulari Potestate

Bank: 410,884,410.16
Total Points: 414,135,630.57
Rep Power: 21474942 Bubus is a legendBubus is a legendBubus is a legendBubus is a legendBubus is a legendBubus is a legendBubus is a legendBubus is a legendBubus is a legendBubus is a legendBubus is a legend

Default Iwa Oji... Omenala Igbo part 1

Iwa Óji - Omenala ndi Igbo

Kola nut - An Ibo Tradition

Óji, (the english name is Kola nut) is a native seed grown in the sultry forest. It is a seed which is planted and eaten in different regions in Nigeria. Kola nut is a prevalent seed in Nigeria and other African countries, but is of great significance in Igboland.
The breaking, blessing and sharing of Óji is a wonderful tradition which transcends from our progenitors.
Óji is a very sacrosanct nut, it brings a community together. Its supremacy brings harmony, unity, peace, prosperity, reproduction and progress amongst those who participate in the blessing and sharing of kola nut.
It is the first thing which is presented to guest in every Igbo gathering. Óji is used to settle disputes between siblings or neighbours, it is served at marriages and burials, however, the rhetoric rites are not performed at burial.
There are different lobes of kola nuts, the dofferent lobes of Kola nut symbolises something in the Igboland.
Different Parts of Igbo Kola nut (Óji Igbo)

Igbo kolanut does not have two segments; any kolanut which has two segments is not served in Igboland.

Óji Ato

Kola nut that has three segments is believed to be a very good one. It symbolises good relation.

Óji Ano

The Igbo’s have great penchant for kola nut which has four parts. It is a symbol of progress and happiness. The four segments characterises the impending blessings which will be bestowed on anyone who participates in the sharing/eating of kola nut. It also serves as a point of contact for progression in every area of the lives of those who partake in eating the kola nut.

Óji Ise

A kola nut which has five segments is a symbol of reproduction. Anyone who partakes in the sharing and eating of this type kola trusts God for fruitfulness, increase and outstanding progress in the lives of her progeny. In the olden days when high importance was attached to large family, this type of kola nut was offered to men who had ample children.

Óji Asa

A Kola nut which has six or seven segments means double progress. It is the Igbo’s believe that whoever partake in eating this kola nut would experience incessant progress in every area of their lives.

WOMEN'S ROLE IN THE BREAKING OF KOLANUT

Tradition does not permit women to climb, pluck or break kola nut. A wife may present kola nut to her husband to offer to their guest, but under no circumstance must she break or bless the kola nut. The primary reason for this is that kola nut epitomises headship, hence, requiring the need for the husband to bless and break the nut. In the absence of the head of the household, any available man will be called upon to break the kola.
Presentation of kola nut

It is the onus of an elderly man from the host family to present kola nut to his guest. It is however, the duty of the traditional ruler of Amaigbo (His royal Highness Eze Nwosu) to present and bless kola nut if he is present at a ceremony. This also epitomises his headship as Amaigbo traditional ruler.
When kola nut is presented to guests, an elderly man from the guest family would touch the kola nut and say to the host "Ňji eze nň eze na aka", this means that the guest have seen the kola which has been presented to them and that the host should proceed to break and bless the kola. The elderly man could proceed to break the kola nut himself or designate the task to a younger man from his family. Where someone other than the elder himself broke the kola nut, it is later passed on to the elderly man for prayers and or blessings.
Blessing of kola nut

It is the Igbo's believe that Oji does not speak or hear English, hence the dictum "Oji anaghi anu bekee". The elder or Eze then blesses the kola in Igbo lingua franca. He offers a piece of the kola nut to ancestral spirits and deities and takes a piece himself; this can be eaten on its own or served with Okwa Ose (peppered butter paste) or alligator pepper before the rest of the Kola nut is passed round to others present. This act means that the host presents the kola nut with a clean heart and a good conscience.
The myth and custom of kola nut is one of the sacred tradition transcended from our great ancestors and which will not be obliterated. It presence not only permeate and brings unity in the lives of those who partake in it, it also embrace an aura of symbolism which depicts happiness, life, peace and a great ambience for vengeance when offered to the ancestral spirits or gods for vindication and retribution.

Member: T-CAN, P-WAN, APPN, NGBC, CoHE, CDC
No disrespectfulness or bitchassness shall be tolerated.
Bubus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2006, 12:08 PM   #2 (permalink)

Rep Power: 1240992 Trespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legend

Old 07-30-2006, 02:31 PM   #3 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474867 Nappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legend

Wow Bubus, really cool
After interacting with Nappy on NR, I now know that Helen has nothing on her. Helen's face may have launched a thousand ships but had I the capacity, I would launch tens of thousands in Nappy’s honor
Originally Posted by Girlbully
I know you sometimes rub me the wrong way, but I think you are the coolest ryder EVER!!! Much love naps, much love

THROUGH UPS AND DOWNS, COME WHAT MAY, NAPPY CHICK WILL FOREVER BE MY FIRST LOVE ON NR!!!
Originally Posted by Guru
If only I was not a misogynistic ass who never dreamed that a female ryder could write haikus dedicated to me, I would not have given her ishuo in that thread
Originally Posted by Phantom
I honestly, without a doubt, think that Nappy Chick is a ryder after my own heart and I mean that sincerely
Originally Posted by Bubus and Arinze
Bubus and Arinze appreciate Nappy and you know why

Nappy, you jes kill me Really, you jes do
Originally Posted by Dibia
If not for the fact that Jersey Girl put e-juju in my e-tea, Nappy would have been my number 1…I still got love for her though
Originally Posted by Kulata
I kinda like Nappy. She is not like a yoruba woman. She says what she means and means what she says. However, she fit don dey tey for this site. Una know say cut off age na 23 and she don dey near am
Old 07-30-2006, 02:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Born Into Excellence...

Bank: 172,946.40
Total Points: 173,355.40
Rep Power: 211718 Haleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legend

come oh .... Bubus,

are you igbo ?? i been think say u be yoruba naw ??
Old 07-30-2006, 03:24 PM   #5 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474867 Nappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legendNappy Chick is a legend

come oh .... Bubus,

are you igbo ?? i been think say u be yoruba naw ??
Really? I always thought he was Igbo. Maybe na because e sabi speak Yoruba
After interacting with Nappy on NR, I now know that Helen has nothing on her. Helen's face may have launched a thousand ships but had I the capacity, I would launch tens of thousands in Nappy’s honor
Originally Posted by Girlbully
I know you sometimes rub me the wrong way, but I think you are the coolest ryder EVER!!! Much love naps, much love

THROUGH UPS AND DOWNS, COME WHAT MAY, NAPPY CHICK WILL FOREVER BE MY FIRST LOVE ON NR!!!
Originally Posted by Guru
If only I was not a misogynistic ass who never dreamed that a female ryder could write haikus dedicated to me, I would not have given her ishuo in that thread
Originally Posted by Phantom
I honestly, without a doubt, think that Nappy Chick is a ryder after my own heart and I mean that sincerely
Originally Posted by Bubus and Arinze
Bubus and Arinze appreciate Nappy and you know why

Nappy, you jes kill me Really, you jes do
Originally Posted by Dibia
If not for the fact that Jersey Girl put e-juju in my e-tea, Nappy would have been my number 1…I still got love for her though
Originally Posted by Kulata
I kinda like Nappy. She is not like a yoruba woman. She says what she means and means what she says. However, she fit don dey tey for this site. Una know say cut off age na 23 and she don dey near am