Old 07-29-2006, 11:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Born Into Excellence...

Bank: 172,946.40
Total Points: 173,355.40
Rep Power: 211718 Haleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legend

Default How much is the bride price in ur tribe ??

OK , i come from one tribe like dat wey ya'll dnt know ( i dnt even know how much their pride price is ) but in my mom's tribe (Angas) .... pride price is like 5 or 10 naira i think.

and we always share a little bag of salt to every member of the bride's family --- every key member of the family should and must receive a bag. I think salt is a sign of purity or some ish like dat ....i dey try o --- culture runs deep
Old 07-30-2006, 12:01 AM   #2 (permalink)

first off...d word is ETHNIC GROUP and not tribe.

im yoruba...we're not as bad as d igbos but we still get ure dollar
Old 07-30-2006, 12:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Born Into Excellence...

Rep Power: 211718 Haleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legendHaleemah is a legend

Originally Posted by Zara
first off...d word is ETHNIC GROUP
po-tay-toe = po-tah-to

same word, same meaning and same usage ...
Old 07-30-2006, 12:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Sir Lancelot
Tribunus Militum Consulari Potestate

Bank: 410,884,410.16
Total Points: 414,135,630.57
Rep Power: 21474942 Bubus is a legendBubus is a legendBubus is a legendBubus is a legendBubus is a legendBubus is a legendBubus is a legendBubus is a legendBubus is a legendBubus is a legendBubus is a legend

OK , i come from one tribe like dat wey ya'll dnt know ( i dnt even know how much their pride price is ) but in my mom's tribe (Angas) .... pride price is like 5 or 10 naira i think.

and we always share a little bag of salt to every member of the bride's family --- every key member of the family should and must receive a bag. I think salt is a sign of purity or some ish like dat ....i dey try o --- culture runs deep
So ten naira and 12 bags of salt and we are ready to marry??

Member: T-CAN, P-WAN, APPN, NGBC, CoHE, CDC
No disrespectfulness or bitchassness shall be tolerated.
Bubus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2006, 12:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
Born Into Excellence...

Originally Posted by Bubus
So ten naira and 12 bags of salt and we are ready to marry??
i guess so
Old 07-30-2006, 12:41 AM   #6 (permalink)

Rep Power: 116650 Nimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legend

Ok...when I was getting married my grandmother(head of family) (Yoruba) sent this list to my husbands family. My husband is African but not Nigerian, and his family almost had a heart attack at the long list. But once they got over the shock, they actually presented us with everything on the list. Even the salt sef.

For the brides' family:
42 kolanut (obi)
42 atare (aligator pepper)
42 bitterkola (orogbo)
42 smoked baracuta fish (eja osan)
42 big yams.
1 cartoon st. louis sugar
1 bag – iodized salt
1 bag of rice
1 container of canola oil
2 bottles brandy
2 bottles wine
4 big bottle of pure pasturated honey
2 cartoons fruits juice: apple, grapes, orange, 5alive
4 non-alcohol drinks
4 cartoons Guinness stout
4 cartoons beer (star)
4 cartoons assorted soft drinks
2 empty decanter bottles
2 cartoons oxford cabin biscuits
2 cartoons digestive wheat biscuit
2 cartoons cream crackers
2 cartoons any biscuits

For The Bride:
1 suit case large 1 set aso oke (iro, gele, iborun lace buba & cap from groom)
1 5 yards latest lace (groom’s to make men’s agbada 7or 8 yards)
1 white bible medium I set Benin iyun jewelry
1 set grooms cultural attire (matching set for groom)
1 set gold 18ct neckchain, bracelet, earrings and rings)
1 wrist watch
1 folding unbrella
1 engagement ring
1 wedding ring bride (plus groom’s to match)
1 lady’s hand bag and shoes to match (some token money inside her bag)
1 pair slippers
3 yards velveteen material (benin for wrapper) any other things of choice according to groom’s family.

Last edited by Nimotalai; 07-30-2006 at 12:43 AM..
Old 07-30-2006, 12:45 AM   #7 (permalink)
Born Into Excellence...

oh, and of course i forgot the part where dude has to bring:

1 small box = strictly underwear for the lady
1 box= strictly lace
1 small box = shoes
1 small box = materials for her clothes.

shuooo , infact, everything .... i am interested in being a spoilt princess
Old 07-30-2006, 12:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
Born Into Excellence...

Originally Posted by Nimotalai
Ok...when I was getting married my grandmother(head of family) (Yoruba) sent this list to my husbands family. My husband is African but not Nigerian, and his family almost had a heart attack at the long list. But once they got over the shock, they actually presented us with everything on the list. Even the salt sef.

For the brides' family:
42 kolanut (obi)
42 bitterkola (orogbo)
42 big yams.
1 bag – iodized salt
1 bag of rice
2 bottles brandy
2 bottles wine
4 non-alcohol drinks
4 cartoons beer (star)
2 empty decanter bottles
2 cartoons any biscuits

For The Bride:
1 wrist watch
1 folding unbrella
1 engagement ring
1 pair slippers
3 yards velveteen material (benin for wrapper) any other things of choice according to groom’s family.
DAMN !! wow, how did the guy's bank account survive ?? una don dig the hole for there finish
Old 07-30-2006, 12:58 AM   #9 (permalink)

Rep Power: 116650 Nimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legendNimotalai is a legend

I know...I felt so bad. Like I said there was shock at first. I didn't even want to do any of the traditional part,I begged and begged them to just simplify things, but I was vetoed by my family.....they kept saying it was their wedding not mine. Pretty much told me to shut and go and sit down somewhere. Sigh....
Old 07-30-2006, 11:18 AM   #10 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474871 pebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legendpebbles is a legend

That's the thing about wedding in Africa, it's supposed to be about the ppl getting married but the the family claims the occassion.

I know...I felt so bad. Like I said there was shock at first. I didn't even want to do any of the traditional part,I begged and begged them to just simplify things, but I was vetoed by my family.....they kept saying it was their wedding not mine. Pretty much told me to shut and go and sit down somewhere. Sigh....

Old 07-30-2006, 11:29 AM   #11 (permalink)
Sir Lancelot
Tribunus Militum Consulari Potestate

Bank: 410,884,410.16
Total Points: 414,135,630.57
Rep Power: 21474942 Bubus is a legendBubus is a legendBubus is a legendBubus is a legendBubus is a legendBubus is a legendBubus is a legendBubus is a legendBubus is a legendBubus is a legendBubus is a legend

For any foreigner that wants to marry a naija woman, this is the thread to direct them to... before they get shocked!

Member: T-CAN, P-WAN, APPN, NGBC, CoHE, CDC
No disrespectfulness or bitchassness shall be tolerated.
Bubus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2006, 11:59 AM   #12 (permalink)

Bank: 251,266,757.58
Total Points: 251,267,657.58
Rep Power: 2023289 omadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legend

5-10 Naira ke? LOl...was this in the 80s or is it just symbolic?
Old 07-30-2006, 12:01 PM   #13 (permalink)

Bank: 251,266,757.58
Total Points: 251,267,657.58
Rep Power: 2023289 omadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legendomadandala is a legend

For the brides' family:
42 kolanut (obi)
42 bitterkola (orogbo)
42 big yams.
1 bag – iodized salt
1 bag of rice
2 bottles brandy
2 bottles wine
4 non-alcohol drinks
4 cartoons beer (star)
2 empty decanter bottles
2 cartoons any biscuits

For The Bride:
1 wrist watch
1 folding unbrella
1 engagement ring
1 pair slippers

Your grandma is mad gangsta
Old 07-30-2006, 12:17 PM   #14 (permalink)
1 to Infinity

Bank: 424,236.68
Total Points: 427,307.18
Rep Power: 3140065 NNE1 is a legendNNE1 is a legendNNE1 is a legendNNE1 is a legendNNE1 is a legendNNE1 is a legendNNE1 is a legendNNE1 is a legendNNE1 is a legendNNE1 is a legendNNE1 is a legend

Originally Posted by omadandala

Your grandma is mad gangsta

freal i love the woman. In Onitsha bride price is 32 (goodluck finding the 2 naira) naira and in some surround areas of igboland as well. Not sure about Imo and the rest of the areas I know some of those areas bride price could even break a mans wallet.

I ruff Chimaobi

QUOTE]Originally posted by Christ I've done my bit, but I need these clowns to meet me halfway! /QUOTE]

nne1 appreciates all gedem ryders
NNE1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2006, 12:18 PM   #15 (permalink)

Rep Power: 1240992 Trespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legendTrespass is a legend

30naira