Old 07-27-2006, 08:09 PM   #1 (permalink)

Rep Power: 215999 sapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legend
Default Applications

ok oh tech heads help me out here.
You know how you start your computer and some programs automatically start in the background?
i have useless applications running all the time and it's slowing my computer down. I remember someone mentioned to me that there's a command or something or the other i can run to stop applications like Quicktime, Real and co which i don't even use from running all the time.
Sometimes I do a ctrl+alt+delete and manually stop those applications, but that's a short term fix.
Any ideas?

Old 07-27-2006, 08:30 PM   #2 (permalink)

Total Points: 120,035.02
Rep Power: 21474887 crAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legend

(Asuming it's WinXP) I usually go to my msconfig and uncheck some programs in the startup tab.

Old 07-27-2006, 08:38 PM   #3 (permalink)

Rep Power: 215999 sapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legendsapphire is a legend

ok lemme try it

Old 07-27-2006, 08:56 PM   #4 (permalink)

ok attached is a screenshot of the message i got when i restarted my computer, i followed the instructions to use normal mode and i'm back @ square on. everything i deselected got selected back up again.

Old 07-27-2006, 11:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Convicted Audiophile

Bank: 80,870,671,406.80
Total Points: 81,873,241,486.80
Rep Power: 11047517 Anygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legend

Originally Posted by sapphire
ok attached is a screenshot of the message i got when i restarted my computer, i followed the instructions to use normal mode and i'm back @ square on. everything i deselected got selected back up again.
go start > run, type msconfig and enter 'system ini tab and selective startup radio button. Select everything on that checkbox and 'Use modified BOOT.INI' radio button. Go to BOOT INI tab and make sure none of the check box is selected. Click o.k and reboot your system...that should take care of it.

Think Blue

"So misunderstood, but what's a world without Anygma"
Anygma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2006, 11:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Convicted Audiophile

Rep Power: 11047517 Anygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legendAnygma is a legend

if you're still getting that message. Restart ur computer as administrator. follow my previous post and you should be good.

Think Blue

Old 07-27-2006, 11:42 PM   #7 (permalink)

ok the "use modified boot.ini" radio button option is grayed out.
lemme restart my comp and try again

Old 07-27-2006, 11:49 PM   #8 (permalink)

it's still grayed out! and i'm in as owner...that's admin too right?

Old 07-27-2006, 11:51 PM   #9 (permalink)

Old 07-27-2006, 11:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
Convicted Audiophile

Originally Posted by sapphire
it's still grayed out! and i'm in as owner...that's admin too right?
owner doesn't have the same right as admin...make sure you're in as an admin.

Think Blue

Old 07-27-2006, 11:54 PM   #11 (permalink)

so do i log out and log in as admin? how do i get in as admin?
see as i come find trouble today Chukwu Nna?

Old 07-28-2006, 12:03 AM   #12 (permalink)
Convicted Audiophile

LOL...yeah, log back in as Admin. Hope u remembered the password, otherwise you're toast.

Think Blue

Old 07-28-2006, 12:06 AM   #13 (permalink)

omo it doesn't even have the option to login as admin, and nope i don't remember the password so i'm not fiddling with that.
thanks for your help though...let the comp run a lil slower, it won't kill me.

Old 07-28-2006, 01:25 AM   #14 (permalink)

Total Points: 120,035.02
Rep Power: 21474887 crAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legend

Hmm..
Hope this helps
http://articles.networktechs.com/55-p1.php

Old 07-28-2006, 05:30 PM   #15 (permalink)

Total Points: 154.40
Rep Power: 0 rush is a legendrush is a legendrush is a legendrush is a legendrush is a legendrush is a legendrush is a legendrush is a legendrush is a legendrush is a legendrush is a legend

If you have to log-on as admin, doesn't seem to me as though you should, tap the F8 button to get into safe mode and you should see your Admin icon. Password should be same as your 'user' one. Also, try deleting links from "Start->Programs->Startup" if disabling from msconfig isnt working.
rush is offline   Reply With Quote