![]() Join Date: May 2002
I find that when I'm really down I usually resort to shopping therapy, I'll scrape the last 10 kobo just to go to the mall and buy something even after months of holding out. I didn't realize I had a problem until I was joking to my friends about it, and they warned me about it turning into a problem.
Who here feels me? What sort of things do you do to curb this? ![]()
If my father has stolen, I will... ** Attend the very best school in the world and walk shoulder high (Educational Investment) ** Organize charity fund just like the 'better life For Rural Women' and government officials will contribute more (...talk about the rich getting richer) ** Own properties in choice countries/ locations and drive 'tear rubber' vehicles (property Investment) ** Be the toast of the town where musician will sing praise me (Social well being) ** Owning a jet or airplane wouldn't be an issue (Ease of transportation) ** Streets/avenues will be named after me (grass root investment) ** Arrange prayers for my father in churches and mosques to ward off evil spirit and untimely death (Spiritual upliftment) ** Advice my father to marry more wives and take more chieftaincy tittles across the board (evenly distribution of wealth) ** Donate 'chairs' to tertiary institutions for under privilege children ** Have shares in blue chips companies ** Wouldn't have to struggle in life But my father didn't have the opportunity to steal otherwise I wouldn't be in diaspora searching for the proverbial green pastures. http://www.nigeriavillagesquare.com/...s-a-thief.html |
![]() Join Date: Jun 2001
anyway, i totally feel you on this one oh. but i am so broke this days that i'll allow myself an outfit when i really really really need it, after holding out for weeks (even months sef, teachers don't get paid much ojare) and then go into the store with my check card or even cash sometimes. recently though i have bought stuff and gone home and really thought about how much i needed it and then returned one item that i could really do without out of everything. makes me feel a little better. when you have other responsibilities, you kind of have to prioritize. my two cents. ![]() |
![]() Join Date: Oct 2005
i feel you. i just make up my mind that i'm not gonna shop. then i toss any ads that come in the mail to prevent temptation. if i really need to buy something, then i'll go to marshall's where i usually don't find much stuff to buy & that cures me
thanks ladies! @ tayo...lai lai once it's bought, it's bought for me. i have stuff in my closet that didn't fit but i tossed the receipt so i can't take it back.
@ happylady thanks oh i'll definitely try that. Like one time after months of holding out, i was so depressed, i just found myself driving to the mall and buying things like a zombie ![]()
If my father has stolen, I will... ** Attend the very best school in the world and walk shoulder high (Educational Investment) ** Organize charity fund just like the 'better life For Rural Women' and government officials will contribute more (...talk about the rich getting richer) ** Own properties in choice countries/ locations and drive 'tear rubber' vehicles (property Investment) ** Be the toast of the town where musician will sing praise me (Social well being) ** Owning a jet or airplane wouldn't be an issue (Ease of transportation) ** Streets/avenues will be named after me (grass root investment) ** Arrange prayers for my father in churches and mosques to ward off evil spirit and untimely death (Spiritual upliftment) ** Advice my father to marry more wives and take more chieftaincy tittles across the board (evenly distribution of wealth) ** Donate 'chairs' to tertiary institutions for under privilege children ** Have shares in blue chips companies ** Wouldn't have to struggle in life But my father didn't have the opportunity to steal otherwise I wouldn't be in diaspora searching for the proverbial green pastures. http://www.nigeriavillagesquare.com/...s-a-thief.html |
#5 (permalink) | ||||||||||
You are lucky. At least it's only if you are depressed. There are folks that shop, shop, shop all the time. Happy, depressed, it's all the same. I only buy what I can afford and what I WILL wear. If I know I won't wear it, then there is no need. I do shop a lot but now I'm too busy with work, it's cured me
||||||||||
![]() Join Date: Apr 2003
i take $20 and go to the dollar store to buy cleaning supplies , toiletries etc by the time I'm done i'm already tired and ready to go home , or i might drive to the farmer's market which is fffffffffffaaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrrrrr just to check out stuff and head back home after . I don't buy anything that doesn't fit ooo because that one na serious problem, i will wear the dress or whatever i buy in the store and buy the matching shoe , bag accessory etc before i leave the store so i know i'll definitely be wearing that ish !
lol that's what i did i went to walmart and got groceries, i felt better afterwards
![]() Join Date: Feb 2004
i can only go shoppin by myself, no1 understands y i take so long
[color=blue][b]BITCH: When I stand up for my beliefs and myself they call me a Bitch. When I stand up for those I love, they call me a Bitch. When I speak my mind, think my own thoughts or do things |
I knowww! Only when I have money problems I start having strong urges to spend what I don't have