Old 06-21-2006, 02:00 PM   #1 (permalink)

Bank: 364.63
Total Points: 1,239.18
Rep Power: 0 Jin Brazco is a legendJin Brazco is a legendJin Brazco is a legendJin Brazco is a legendJin Brazco is a legendJin Brazco is a legendJin Brazco is a legendJin Brazco is a legendJin Brazco is a legendJin Brazco is a legendJin Brazco is a legend
Default Is Going To Church Really Important?

Sometimes i hear arguments about the importance of going to church and not.
I would like to ask you people here:
WHY IS GOING TO CHURCH IMPORTANT?
Jin Brazco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2006, 04:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
iChtHus

Total Points: 279.00
Rep Power: 11776 Obiagelli is a legendObiagelli is a legendObiagelli is a legendObiagelli is a legendObiagelli is a legendObiagelli is a legendObiagelli is a legendObiagelli is a legendObiagelli is a legendObiagelli is a legendObiagelli is a legend

i've thought about it a few times? is it really necessary? wouldn't we all wanna catch those extra hours of sleep on sunday mornings?

many people tend to go to fulfil righteousness like "yeah, it's sunday...you might as well go to church"-kinda attitude. others go just to show off, if you knoworramean

i guess situations like that would undermine the importance of it.

for one, it is for a reason that God said "where two or three are gathered in My Name, there also I am." of course, when we pray alone, God hears us, but there must be some corporate anointing available in praying together as one.

it is good for encouragement. when you go to church, it lifts your spirit, you hear testimonies of people who had probably passed through something you're going through at that period in your life, and it edifies you. in addition, it is a good place to seek spiritual counsel. it's quite amazing how much of a difference there is between advice given within and without christendom. if one doesn't take a stand in Christ in their decisions, it could leave one completely confused, or worse still, lead you down the wrong track. paul says in romans 1:12

11For I long to see you, that I may impart unto you some spiritual gift, to the end ye may be established;

12That is, that I may be comforted together with you by the mutual faith both of you and me.

one thing i've also noticed is that private study of the Bible is good. but when yyou go to church, you see manyy other ways of looking at he Bible and how tthere could be different meanings to one verse. i don't know how many of you have heard pastor adeboye speak, but i remember one night vigil i went for and he spoke for the whole night on just a couple of verses. and it was really hot stuff!! the way he analyses it, he goes into each verse in sooo much detail that you just sit there and go "really? wow!!"

..now that's what church should do. church should WOW you.

the last thing i can come up with, though by all means, not least, is that we're told in Hebrews, almost like a commandment?? not to forsake the gathering of the brethren. Hebrews 10: 24 - 25
24And let us consider one another to provoke unto love and to good works:

25Not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as the manner of some is; but exhorting one another: and so much the more, as ye see the day approaching.

so brasco, sorry but you're just going to have to keep going
Obiagelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2006, 01:14 PM   #3 (permalink)

Rep Power: 0 Jin Brazco is a legendJin Brazco is a legendJin Brazco is a legendJin Brazco is a legendJin Brazco is a legendJin Brazco is a legendJin Brazco is a legendJin Brazco is a legendJin Brazco is a legendJin Brazco is a legendJin Brazco is a legend

Originally posted by Obiagelli

so brasco, sorry but you're just going to have to keep going

Old 06-26-2006, 09:39 AM   #4 (permalink)

Total Points: 105,035.02
Rep Power: 21474887 crAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legend

Church is not for everyone; I've learned that. It's hard to pay attention and listen to the word of God when you realise that you are surrounded by hypocrites and wicked people.

I still do remember some things some priests/pastors have said that still stir with in my heart from time to time; I still have the few moments where I look @ the bible and remember how many different meanings there are to a verse.

In short; I despise going to church; it's not my thing; I've found my longing...a means which God can reach thru me; yes I still need some workin on but one thing's for sure...church is not for me...as of now....and I don't think it's changing any time soon.`

Old 06-26-2006, 09:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Smooth Moderator
Product of Delta State

Bank: 1,257,040,696.74
Total Points: 1,257,849,206.74
Rep Power: 21474891 bigtallman is a legendbigtallman is a legendbigtallman is a legendbigtallman is a legendbigtallman is a legendbigtallman is a legendbigtallman is a legendbigtallman is a legendbigtallman is a legendbigtallman is a legendbigtallman is a legend

I think going to church is important b/c it is good for the children of God to praise God and worship him in harmony, i know one can do this by themself, but every now and then its good to hear the word of GOD through some one else
Old 06-26-2006, 09:49 AM   #6 (permalink)

Bank: 107,685.62
Total Points: 123,654.04
Rep Power: 6525 lulu is a legendlulu is a legendlulu is a legendlulu is a legendlulu is a legendlulu is a legendlulu is a legendlulu is a legendlulu is a legendlulu is a legendlulu is a legend

do u think that maybe it's that particular church that's putting u off? have u tried other churches? or is it ur denomination that you're not liking?

Originally posted by crAzy Don
Church is not for everyone; I've learned that. It's hard to pay attention and listen to the word of God when you realise that you are surrounded by hypocrites and wicked people.

I still do remember some things some priests/pastors have said that still stir with in my heart from time to time; I still have the few moments where I look @ the bible and remember how many different meanings there are to a verse.

In short; I despise going to church; it's not my thing; I've found my longing...a means which God can reach thru me; yes I still need some workin on but one thing's for sure...church is not for me...as of now....and I don't think it's changing any time soon.`
FAILURES KEEP YOU HUMBLE
SUCCESS KEEPS YOU GLOWING
BUT ONLY GOD
KEEPS YOU GOING!
lulu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2006, 09:54 AM   #7 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474887 crAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legendcrAzy Don is a legend

Originally posted by lulu
do u think that maybe it's that particular church that's putting u off? have u tried other churches? or is it ur denomination that you're not liking?
It's a general hate for churches...I've tried a lot;"Black" to "White"....it's the whole concept of church I don't feel. I am more "hands-on" when it comes to Xtianity...with all humility intended.

Old 06-26-2006, 09:55 AM   #8 (permalink)

Rep Power: 6525 lulu is a legendlulu is a legendlulu is a legendlulu is a legendlulu is a legendlulu is a legendlulu is a legendlulu is a legendlulu is a legendlulu is a legendlulu is a legend

i go to church b/c i see it as an act of respect to God...i would like to find a church where i can just feel a 100% connected to God, so i can be much more motivated to go...and i have a feeling i won't feel that way unless i try to get involved or render my time/services to that church
FAILURES KEEP YOU HUMBLE
BUT ONLY GOD
KEEPS YOU GOING!
Old 06-26-2006, 09:56 AM   #9 (permalink)

It's a general hate for churches...I've tried a lot;"Black" to "White"....it's the whole concept of church I don't feel. I am more "hands-on" when it comes to Xtianity...with all humility intended.
what do u mean by hands-on??
FAILURES KEEP YOU HUMBLE
BUT ONLY GOD
KEEPS YOU GOING!
Old 06-26-2006, 10:02 AM   #10 (permalink)

what do u mean by hands-on??
Practice my fundamental belief of Xtianity rather than talk about it/ preach about it like the other dweebs do.

Old 06-26-2006, 10:18 AM   #11 (permalink)

Practice my fundamental belief of Xtianity rather than talk about it/ preach about it like the other dweebs do.
cool...guess that works for u. but like i say, a strong foundation is very important in setting up and sticking to any sort of belief whatsover...and some say u find that foundation in the church. obviously not the case for u, but it's all good.
FAILURES KEEP YOU HUMBLE
BUT ONLY GOD
KEEPS YOU GOING!
Old 06-26-2006, 10:30 AM   #12 (permalink)

cool...guess that works for u. but like i say, a strong foundation is very important in setting up and sticking to any sort of belief whatsover...and some say u find that foundation in the church. obviously not the case for u, but it's all good.
...Ironically; I had a strong foundation in church..like almost every other naija xtian...but yeh...this is a topic i'd not get into now; coz there are a lot of things involved...but the most important one to me is the fact that religion in our history of humanity has been and is still is used as a mask for man's evil and makes hypocrites of most of its believers...but I'd stop here.

Old 06-26-2006, 01:42 PM   #13 (permalink)

just to chip this in "fundamentals will never get you to hit the mark, building on fundamentals do."
Do you learn alone CD?

...Ironically; I had a strong foundation in church..like almost every other naija xtian...but yeh...this is a topic i'd not get into now; coz there are a lot of things involved...but the most important one to me is the fact that religion in our history of humanity has been and is still is used as a mask for man's evil and makes hypocrites of most of its believers...but I'd stop here.
before i take you on this post, i will like to ask if you believe in GOD(and jesus all a whole), GOD or none?
Old 06-26-2006, 01:58 PM   #14 (permalink)

Originally posted by brasco
just to chip this in "fundamentals will never get you to hit the mark, building on fundamentals do."
Do you learn alone CD?
Like I said
~yes I still need some workin on~

before i take you on this post, i will like to ask if you believe in GOD(and jesus all a whole), GOD or none?
and if u don't mind...why do you wish to inquire into my belief?

Old 06-26-2006, 02:01 PM   #15 (permalink)

and if u don't mind...why do you wish to inquire into my belief?
Quite simple, because i dont want to waste my time having a blind discussion.
So which do you believe in?