Old 03-26-2006, 06:50 AM   #1 (permalink)

Exclamation Hair Breakage

OMG! My hair's breaking like crazy.........Let me start from the beginning. My hair was fine for the second half of last year, and then the salon I go to changed the relaxers they use. The relaxer was horrible (had growth in like 2 weeks), so I decided to braid my hair. As soon as I took off the braids, my hair started breaking and it's been like that ever since (for the past 2 months)!!!!!!!!!!

Help. What do I do?
Old 03-26-2006, 04:57 PM   #2 (permalink)

Rep Power: 196446 Ebony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legend

get it treated and trim.....theres nuthin u can do, if ya hairs breaking, its breakin
Old 03-27-2006, 04:43 AM   #3 (permalink)

Bank: 989.32
Total Points: 1,144.32
Rep Power: 0 Renee is a legendRenee is a legendRenee is a legendRenee is a legendRenee is a legendRenee is a legendRenee is a legendRenee is a legendRenee is a legendRenee is a legendRenee is a legend

get the conditioning treatment....then braid it back....usually the dead ends will break off and your hair will grow again
It happened to me, my hairdresser advised me to braid it instead of chopping it off like I wanted and now my hair is ok
Renee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 01:53 PM   #4 (permalink)

Rep Power: 196446 Ebony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legendEbony-T is a legend

Originally posted by Renee
get the conditioning treatment....then braid it back....usually the dead ends will break off and your hair will grow again
It happened to me, my hairdresser advised me to braid it instead of chopping it off like I wanted and now my hair is ok
but ends dont repair themselves

even if you braid it, ya hair will still be breakin
Old 03-28-2006, 10:35 PM   #5 (permalink)

Total Points: 246.00
Default Re: Hair Breakage

Originally posted by Mzz Nita
OMG! My hair's breaking like crazy.........Let me start from the beginning. My hair was fine for the second half of last year, and then the salon I go to changed the relaxers they use. The relaxer was horrible (had growth in like 2 weeks), so I decided to braid my hair. As soon as I took off the braids, my hair started breaking and it's been like that ever since (for the past 2 months)!!!!!!!!!!

Help. What do I do?

you need to deep condition your hair more often...

especially since you have a perm...make sure your hair is moisturized and DONT (MY ANY MEANS) but cotton on your head...even if it is a hat...the friction break hair off like crazy...make sure you have ur hair wrapped every night...

if that doesnt work...trim your hair and start anew

oh yeah...if ur gonna put braids in ur hair...be easy on dipping your hair....and...your hair has to be moisturized still...dont use braid sprays w/ alcohol in them...they dry out and break your hair
NyjeerianGal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2006, 11:45 PM   #6 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474913 Lady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legend

chop it off

Old 03-29-2006, 02:27 AM   #7 (permalink)

Originally posted by ACM
chop it off
go cut urs first.
some1 advised me to do that halle cutt like uggh i cant even take care of my own hair tlkless of maintainin that short do.,

@mzznita lay off braids for a while i haven't done so in 2 yrs but have cornrowed then when i took out my hair im like ok no more nuthin for a while. and u knw the deal with deep conditions? ull b fine.

myspace.com/jamzy4
Old 03-29-2006, 02:58 AM   #8 (permalink)

Originally posted by Jamzy
go cut urs first.
some1 advised me to do that halle cutt like uggh i cant even take care of my own hair tlkless of maintainin that short do.,

@mzznita lay off braids for a while i haven't done so in 2 yrs but have cornrowed then when i took out my hair im like ok no more nuthin for a while. and u knw the deal with deep conditions? ull b fine.

short hair is actually easy to maintain

the only problem is the way you wrap it at night so that its ok for the nx mornin, if you can master that ur blessed.
Ebony-T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 09:36 AM   #9 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474913 Lady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legendLady ACM is a legend

Originally posted by Jamzy
go cut urs first.

I did... and it dey grow day by day

lol aw u dey sef.

Old 03-29-2006, 03:25 PM   #10 (permalink)

Total Points: 472.00

braids breaks hair when u have it in for too long, u cant do much but trim ur hair when u get it relaxed and try not to wear braids very often
Old 03-29-2006, 03:43 PM   #11 (permalink)

Originally posted by sukusukubambam
braids breaks hair when u have it in for too long, u cant do much but trim ur hair when u get it relaxed and try not to wear braids very often

very well said
Ebony-T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2006, 01:07 PM   #12 (permalink)

Rep Power: 21474884 pynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legendpynkspyce is a legend

just make sure you deep condition. and keep alcohol products away from your hair. and dont put your hair in any style that will cause friction with your with scalp. Trim your ends regularly and use a good leave in conditioner. Redken has some good products.
Old 03-30-2006, 02:42 PM   #13 (permalink)

Total Points: 169.00

Can someone really do without treatments? 'cos I learnt that if u start using treatment and stop at anytime,it would start breaking off again.
sweetpea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2006, 06:04 PM   #14 (permalink)

Total Points: 16,329.45
Rep Power: 1941564 aurora is a legendaurora is a legendaurora is a legendaurora is a legendaurora is a legendaurora is a legendaurora is a legendaurora is a legendaurora is a legendaurora is a legendaurora is a legend
Default Re: Hair Breakage

Originally posted by Mzz Nita

Help. What do I do?
..I think its normal for ur hair to mess up a little bit after takin out braids esp if it was in there for a long time so u just knd of have to nurture it back to life.
........abegi no chop off ur hair, just take better care of it. Get a perm like every six weeks- pls don't do that naija thing of oh let me keep my hair for 3months before i get it touched up(does more harm than good). Get it trimmed....as in get rid of all the split ends. wash it every week or twice a week if u can if not just wash it once.....deep condition with like hair masque or somn(15mins under dryer). DOn't put too much heat...flat-iron like just once when u wash it and if u don't like ur hair too straight u can roll it dry and keep it overnight a couple of times a week...puts a little bounce, just like curling it would.
...also maybe ur hair's messin up cos of how u're feelin so u might wanna check urself and make sure ur mind is feeling good and all. i don't do this but i heard it makes a diff.....make sure ur vitamins(if u take any) have the necessary fatty acids.
...thats all i can think of now.
aurora is offline   Reply With Quote