Old 09-07-2005, 08:19 AM   #1 (permalink)

Total Points: 1,972,055.18
Rep Power: 3254879 Odogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legend
Default Made in _________

I am one of those that is still stuck with some naija mentality. I always wanna know where my cloths are made or shoes etc even cookies. eg. i will rate chocolate made in Swizz more than american etc.

but i am curious about cloths, it seems that major designers are expanding their coast. The white pants i was tlaking about in my other thread weeks ago lol, well its made in MOROCCO lol I saw that and i was like, when are these folks gonna come to naija? now the line is Spanish and i know Europe is sea away from northafrica but still. WE have the human resources to sew these things and the talent. The day i will c a major label with made in Nigeria, for real i will patronise dem well well oh.

SriLanka cannot be dat better than naija. WE need "sweat shops" in naija abeg
Old 09-07-2005, 07:28 PM   #2 (permalink)

Naijas r lazy period, everyone is looking for the easy cash. Even if u set up a "sweat shop" on a large scale it won't take months before ur ppls run u out of business. Plus places like morrocco etc have all those good fabric we really lack in naija. Our common abada abi dutch fabric isn't even made in naija , we have to import our own stuff from netherlands , our lace from austria , dubai etc Obj has taken an initiative though by banning all those imported stuff but he hasn't created any good avenues for alternatives.

Old 09-08-2005, 07:39 AM   #3 (permalink)

Total Points: 1,972,055.18
Rep Power: 3254879 Odogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legendOdogwu is a legend

Naijas r lazy period, everyone is looking for the easy cash. Even if u set up a "sweat shop" on a large scale it won't take months before ur ppls run u out of business. Plus places like morrocco etc have all those good fabric we really lack in naija. Our common abada abi dutch fabric isn't even made in naija , we have to import our own stuff from netherlands , our lace from austria , dubai etc Obj has taken an initiative though by banning all those imported stuff but he hasn't created any good avenues for alternatives.
i don't mind the importantion of fabrics. yes north africa has fine fabrics. Nigerians are not lazy, we luv short cuts sha
hopefully somoen pitches the idea to a top fashion co.
If India can do it and all teh south asian countries that are poverty streiken we can do it too. Tailors worldclass level full Aba, Lagos and even teh north